DVD drive doesn't recognize DVD format?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by evisa, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. evisa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    I just bought a new MBP, and every time I put in a DVD, it says it can't be played because it doesn't recognize the format. These DVDs were all bought, not pirated, and have no problems whatsoever with standalone DVD players. What's going on?
     
  2. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #2
    Maybe it's set to the wrong region. My MBP was set to Region 2 when I got it and DVD Player asked to change it to Region 4 when I inserted a DVD
     
  3. evisa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    When I insert a DVD, DVD player doesn't do anything. There's just a black screen for the player and the little widget.
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    That would result in the same message you received. The OP is receiving an error, so I doubt this would be the case.


    Have you been able to play any DVD successfully? If not, are they mainstream movies (e.g. Pirates of the Caribbean)?

    Were you trying to play the DVDs in DVD Player? If so, try quicktime.
     
  5. evisa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    It just asked me to choose a region because it was my first time playing a DVD. I don't know what region I'm in! I live in Southern California if that helps at all...
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    That would make you region 1.

    Your DVDs should also be region 1. (You can find a DVD's region number located on the back, near the MPAA rating. It will be in located inside of a small globe.)
     
  7. evisa thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #7
    Thanks! It works now. That scared me. Now all I have to do is figure out why Firefox doesn't want to eject and leave my desktop!
     

Share This Page