DVD REGIONS AND POWERBOOK

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by mezzanine, Jul 25, 2005.

  1. mezzanine macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    #1
    i am about to switch from windows to mac os X
    and i am going to bye powerbook from china (english version)
    because its much cheaper
    i was wondering if i will have any problem with the dvd region(i live in europe ) and if i will, are there any programms that can change the dvd region.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    You can change the region up to five times. So when you get it, change it to region 2, and you shouldn't have any problems.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    The DVD region (from memory) is based on the first few DVDs you use in the drive rather than the country the Mac is bought in. You'll be asked by DVD Player to pick a certain region after (I think) about five different DVDs.

    I'd be more worried about power supplies than DVDs. I've got no idea what each respective country puts out through the wall (or floor) but check that first.
     
  4. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    The PowerBook power supplies are universal, so all you need is an adapter (either Apple's own World Travel Kit, or some other adapter).
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
  6. mezzanine thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    Use VLC media player, it bypasses the region coding so you can use DVD's from anywhere. Best of all, it's free!
     

Share This Page