DVD Shrink under Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ripfrankwhite, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. ripfrankwhite macrumors regular

    ripfrankwhite

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    #1
    Anyone here using DVD Shrink with Parallels? I can't seem to get it to rip the disc. It works fine under Bootcamp, but fails to work with Parallels.
     
  2. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #2
    Haven't tried, but I've got to ask...

    Why not just do it in MacOS?
     
  3. ripfrankwhite thread starter macrumors regular

    ripfrankwhite

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    #3
    Mac doesn't have any decrypters that can compete with the ones for Windows.
    Mac the Ripper is as good as it gets on Mac, and it just doesn't cut it for the newer discs. Especially Sony and Disney.
     
  4. br0adband macrumors 6502a

    br0adband

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #4
    It's not working because of how Parallels accesses the physical CD/DVD drive in your machine. I have the same issues with drive access under XP inside Parallels; the virtual driver doesn't allow for most stuff like raw level data ripping, unfortunately.

    Hope this helps...
    bb

    ps
    If necessary, try this (although it takes longer): Use Disk Utility to make a CD/DVD master file (.cdr but you can just change that to .iso, it's the same thing) of the DVD on the hard drive, then mount it with Disk Mounter and *then* try to rip with DVDShrink or do whatever with it. This way you're bypassing the virtual CD driver totally. So, image the CD/DVD to a shared folder on the hard drive under OSX, then fire up Parallels/XP and point DVDShrink to the mounted image file in the options (just like choosing a physical drive/ISO image to use to install stuff under Parallels).

    Takes a lot longer but, you may end up getting the results you want.
     
  5. randomlinh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #5
    I'm geting a "ran out of space, don't have enough memory" error when it gets to encoding. @exactly 44% on two dvds now. Both straight from DVD, and straight from an ISO.

    my parallels setup is a 20GB full disk (it was expanded, i converted it.. I hope that's not the problem). I tried saving it to that, and to the parallels shared folder.. both failed.
     

Share This Page