DVI Output resolution of PB 17"

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by lisbakke, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. lisbakke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #1
    So I just bought a new 24" Dell 2405FPW monitor http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1774271,00.asp.

    It's absolutely huge, and beautiful. However, I'm dissapointed to find that plugging it into my PB wasn't nearly as intuitive as plugging it into my PC laptop.

    I want to do a few things:

    1. I want to have my laptop monitor turn off while it's got the Dell monitor going.
    2. I don't want my PB to sleep when I shut it and the Dell monitor is plugged into the DVI.
    3. I want to use the max resolution supported by my dell monitor (1900 x 1200)
    4. If not 3, then I want the highest possible resolution that my PB will output, and I want it to take up the whole Dell screen - When I do this right now, it has about 2.5 inches of black monitor space on every side of the monitor.
    [​IMG]


    On the monitor settings, the options for increasing the horizontal/vertical size are blacked out, so I can't just "zoom in" to this resolution.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Ben
     
  2. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    I think its on mirror mode. You have to close the PB, then I you can set it to the max res. Make sure you have a KB+mouse, as its required to do this.Or you can extend your desktop, but then you'd be using your PB (You said you want it off)...








    BTW, I envy you, I'm planning to get one of those too. ;)
     
  3. lisbakke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #3

    Ya :D eBay for $860 total... went and picked it up 30 mins from my house!! It's awesome.

    Everytime I close the pb, it sleeps. Yes, I'm on mirror mode, but I don't know how to get it to stop being so sleepy when I close it =/
     
  4. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    Yes. Its supposed to sleep... Ant the KB+mouse wakes it back up. So plug those in and wake it up to your awesome display :D
     
  5. lisbakke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #5
    YOU ROCK!!! Thanks so much, really. Wow, this is beautiful. WHAT DO I DO WITH ALL THIS SCREEN SPACE??????? Maybe I'll plug my xBox in and play games on it and then picture in picture web browse!
     

Share This Page