DVI to ADC ???

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MrBeama, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. MrBeama macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    #1
    hello

    i was wondering if i could use my old 17" apple studio display to connect to my PC? (i know, just use the mac, but i have a new monitor for my mac)

    this is the monitor
    [​IMG]

    and it has the ADC plug on it
    [​IMG]

    and i want to plug it into my PC running a 6600gt graphic card with A DVI socket. which looks the same but has space for 8 pins not 10.

    is there an adapter for this?

    :)
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    NO

    It is a VGA monitor that is using a ADC plug, most all the DVI to ADC convertors only pass through the digital portion of the signal.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    ??? I don't get it then..

    What about a DVI -> VGA dongle and then an ADC to VGA converter?
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    It's not a DVI monitor -- it's a VGA monitor.

    Most all ADC monitors are DVI+USB+Power, so all these little boxes package that signal.

    This monitor is VGA+USB+Power, so it never gets the VGA signal it needs.

    It's just a VGA monitor with a ADC plug, non-standard and orphaned equipment.

    Edit: Still needs an ADC outlet to work...
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Gotcha.. so what about the DVI -> VGA dongle for the PC and then an ADC -> VGA converter?

    Seems like a lot of steps to just get a new LCD monitor instead... :rolleyes:
     
  7. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #7
    The monitor lacks USB and Power (taps the power off the ADC plug), needs both of those to work.

    Anyways it's not a monitor you want to use on a PC, because there are no front panel controls -- so no way to change the monitor settings.
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Oooh.. nice. Another addition to the "Fine Design" pile form Apple. E.G., puck mouse. <vomit>

    I'm too lazy to look, but I know at least some of the ADC->DVI converters include plugs for power and USB. No idea if the ADC->VGA would too.. probably not. As noted, OP should just get a new, cheap monitor. :)
     
  9. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #9
    Well, yes, those monitors are not very good. They wouldn't even work with some Macs, e.g. the Cube. But it's fairly old by this time anyway. There's a store near me trying to sell 17" CRT monitors for $29 - and they have about a hundred of them sitting around.
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR

Share This Page