dvorak

Discussion in 'macOS' started by omega30one, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. omega30one macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    how does one change the login window to dvorak rather than qwerty?
     
  2. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I've never used a dvorak keyboard, but I have used several different language ones.

    You should just be able to change the input options on the Admin account, which should carry through to the login window...

    What have you tried already?

    Also, a quick googling found this link. Hope it's useful.
     
  3. dolphin842 macrumors 65816

    dolphin842

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    #3
    Even if one changes the input to Dvorak on an admin account, the login window still defaults to querty.

    I've yet to find a workaround... I just look at the keyboard when I log in. I'm guessing, though, that there is some pref file for the login window that could be hacked? I wouldn't know where to begin though.

    Glad to see there is someone else here that uses Dvorak :cool:

    On a related note, I think it was very clever for OS X to have an input mode that lets you do Dvorak when typing, but reverts to qwerty when you hold down the command button, so you don't have to re-learn keyboard shortcuts! (Unfortunately a few apps like Word and Photoshop don't recognize this :( )
     
  4. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
  5. omega30one thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005

Share This Page