DVR and Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mojohanna, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. mojohanna macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #1
    My question concerns the following. I just had a directv DVR installed and noticed that it has a USB port on it. The manual says its for future use, but when discussing it with the tech who was doing the install, he said that I could plug a computer into the usb port and pull the recorded shows off the dvr and burn them to disc.
    Part of me says no way would the networks etc. allow this, but there is an option to record directly to a VCR from the DVR.

    I am planning on testing this, but unfortunately, I do not have a normal USB cable (picking one up today). However, I was wondering if I plugged in a wireless usb adapter to the DVR and set up a wireless network in the house, will my mac recognize the DVR as another networkable device?
    I have the luxury of trying it wired at this time because I have the use of a laptop for the next few weeks, but was looking at the wireless option as a long term solution.

    Am I way off base on this?
     
  2. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Im not sure about the wireless but I do know that you can record from ur DVR to your mac. Search Google for it... but i think it also required you to hack your DVR, and if its propererty of your cable provider... I would be carefull...
     
  3. mojohanna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #3
    Its a directv box and I bought it. Its not a loaner like the cable co, but there still may be some restrictions. I'll look futher into it.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Assuming it's a DirecTV with TiVo DVR (not the new one from DirecTV without TiVo), you can find lots of useful info on how to modify these units (it's not too difficult, particularly if you know your way around unix) at the forums at http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum. Once modified you can pull programs off via an Ethernet adapter hooked up to the USB port.

    Note that the only modification I have done to my two units is to expand the stock hard drive from 40GB to 120GB, so I have no direct experience with some of the more involved modifications.

    B
     
  5. mojohanna thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mojohanna

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #5
    It is the new box from Directv that is not tivo based. Thanks for the info. Expanding the hard drive capability is also interesting.
     

Share This Page