Easiest Way to Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Squilly, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    I've been wanting to boot camp my MBP as soon as I got it. What's the easiest way? I don't want to use Parallels or VMWare since it merges everything I have on my existing Windows computer via network sync. I don't have an .iso image. Is there an easy way?
     
  2. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
  3. bill-p
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
  4. GGJstudios
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    You can't get any easier than the video tutorial on the page I linked. It's so simple, even a cave man can do it! :D
     
  5. chas337
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    chas337

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    ive got it running on my mini I managed to get a demo windows 8 version all you do Is plug In a hard drive select the .iso and run :)
     
  6. snaky69
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #7
    VMware or Parallels is not bootcamping.

    Just start bootcamp assistant and follow the on screen instructions. Have your windows 7 disc handy. It's really that simple.
     
  7. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Do you have a .iso?
     
  8. chas337
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    chas337

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    yea im pretty Shure do u want me to try and find the link when I boot up in osx
     
  9. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #10
    Would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  10. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #11
    I'm downloading the .iso image now. Should I just use Boot Camp Assistant and it'll handle the rest?
     
  11. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    So I'm in Boot Camp Assistant and downloaded a .iso image to my flash drive. BCA isn't recognizing it and asking me to enter a disc. My Mac doesn't have an optical drive.
     
  12. jenzjen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #13
    BCA should have given you an option to create the USB from an ISO. You need to do that, you can't simply copy the ISO to the flash drive.
     
  13. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #14
    Oh.... damn. Boot Camp Assistant says "Save a Copy to an External Drive". Then I'm pretty sure it asks me to insert a disc after "WindowsSupport" downloads.
     
  14. jenzjen
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #15
    Read the screen carefully, IIRC correctly the "disk" also includes flash drives, which applies in your case since you have the rMBP. Re run BCA to put the ISO onto the flash drive.
     
  15. Squilly
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #16
    I tried. Apparently I don't have enough space to support it when the .iso is less than 4gb (size of flash drive).
     

Share This Page