Easy, cheap and reliable fileserver for ~3 PCs?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mitthrawnuruodo, Jan 12, 2007.

1. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

As some of you might know I work as a web programmer for a couple of small companies, and as the only with a real technical background I (more or less voluntarily) get stuck with all computer related tasks and questions (which is a good thing job security wise, but not always good for the stress level ;)).

One of the companies are about to get/rent themselves a dedicated Linux server at a hosting company, to host their clients web pages, web applications, and whatever else you can do (mail, ftp, etc.).

This company has a rather important client, who wants an easy-to-use, cheap and reliable (file) server for their office. They are only 3 people and all 3 are using Windows at the moment (though I might have given one of them a nudge in the right direction), and want to use this as a file server and for backup.

Then to the hard part: It would also be great if we could (again with an easy solution) mirror (or otherwise backup) that file server to the, above mentioned, dedicated server, using e.g. s/ftp (or maybe samba? I don't know, that's why I ask ;)).

The client is not in the same geographical location as we are and they are not very computer literate, so if the file server (and backup routines) should be extremely easy to use from day to day, while the dedicated server will be in "better" hands...

Anybody know any easy-to-use, cheap and reliable (file) server solutions that could be suitable for a small office with 3 non-technical Windows users?

I know I could have googled this and/or looked for answers on a more Windows centric forum, but I don't know any Windows centric forums and aren't really interested in getting to know them, and sifting through 1000s of Google hits aren't my favourite pastime.

2. weldon macrumors 6502a

weldon