Easy Question for the right person

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Peyton, Feb 19, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #1
    Hi, I made a website using dreamweaver and its only visible through IE. http://clydegilpin.com/slideshow.asp
    That's the link, it looks just as I want it to in IE, what can I do to change the code to make it more compatable? Safari? FF?

    Thanks for any advice
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    It's an asp page. This is a MS technology. While I personally like ASP, it isn't the best format for universal browsing.

    If you are just using the ASP extension not the technology, then just change the extension to something more universal.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #3
    Such as? I tried several actually, but those didn't work with IE so I didn't know. I used htm, a java one, several that I can't remember.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    mac 2005

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    There also are some very easy to use DHTML scripts available to provide the functionality you're after. You can also "link" the images to more information on your site. Also, the scripts are free.

    Image Slideshows
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    The problem isn't ASP. The problem is you are missing very important tags.

    I see no doctype and not even an
    Code:
    <html>
    or
    Code:
    <head>
    tag. ASP code is executed on the server so any browser regardless of the OS can handle it.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    Yes, it is supposed to. But from experience, I can tell you it doesn't always work correctly in a non-IE browser.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #7
    I'd say developer error in that case, until I am proven wrong. :)
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    No, that's not it. Up through .NET v1, some features worked properly in non-IE browsers and some didn't. It's mostly formating problems. Things are normally useable, they just don't look 100% like they should. This is very well known. .NET 2.0 is supposed to fix much of this, but I haven't gotten a chance to use it yet.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #9
    hey thanks a lot, I got it to work using php3. For some reason I can't center the thing, but it works in IE perfectly so I'm not complaining.

    Thanks a bunch
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #10
    Ah, .net is basically asp frameworks right? I'd believe that then. I'm speaking of .asp itself which I think he was working with.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #11

    you need to be working with php4 at least. php3 is missing a lot of functionality that 4 provides, and not very many php servers out there have the correct things enabled to use all the functionality of 3.
     

Share This Page