Easy spell-checking with Firefox 2

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #2
    *Yawn*

    I can't get terribly impressed by a feature that's been in Safari since 2003.
     
  3. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    It would be a lot more interesting if at least the systemwide spell check was plumbed in.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #4
    This is great, the posts are going backward in time.

    Firefox does a pretty good job but since you have to add dictionaries to support other languages, aren't the UK, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand somewhat handicapped again?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #5
    "Look up in Dictionary" - Command+Control+D - still doesn't work in Firefox 2. One of the "must-have" essential features I cannot live without in Safari, but at least FF's bookmarks and general stability have been improved over the previous version.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    #6
    Yes, but Safari has to be the worst browser to use when working in the WordPress admin. Firefox has always been my browser of choice for blogging, so this feature was a very welcome addition.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    I'm betting that there is already a dictionary extension for Firefox that works just fine.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #8
    Am confuzed. Saffari can allreddy do spel-checkign?

    Seriously... how do I enable it?

    SL
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    superleccy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    That there big London
    #9
    Edit > Spelling > Check Spelling as you type.

    SL
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #10
    That has to do with Carbon vs Cocoa probably. The reason firefox doesn't use OSX's spellchecking is the same reason it doesn't support the CMD-CTRL-D thing.

    Not sure why Firefox is carbon. Perhaps there's a OS9 version out there, but I can't be bothered to look it up.

    What the heck is up with the strange post order and all the macrumors-esque avatars?
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #11
    Carbon can take advantage of services as well. However, Firefox is a multiple platform product and doesn't take advantage of most anything that would bind it particularly to any operating system to allow changes to fit all platforms equally. Besides, you can't easily wrap C++ around Cocoa since it's bound to Objective-C and Objective-C, while available, isn't really conducive to platforms other than Mac OS X.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #12
    Seems like that is easily solved with clever use of #defines which they certainly must have plenty of os-specific branches anyways, for handling things like pref files and temp file pathnames. Why not:

    #if_def OSX
    enable_the_neat_stuff_like_dictionary_and_spelling();
    #end_if
     
  13. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #13
    You've obviously worked on a lot of multiple platform software. That must be how you've so easily solved the issue.
     
  14. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #14
    Triple- *Yawn*

    Or a feature that has been part of OmniWeb since the mid 1990's. :eek:
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    Using Firefox is so 2004.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    jessep28

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #16
    I use it just for school e-mail...that's it

    IBM doesn't want to support Safari on their web based Lotus Notes client, so I guess they make Mac users endure the pain of putting two browsers on their computer.
     

Share This Page