Echo while recording vocals

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by JoeLouis, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I recently switched from:

    Pro Tools 24 Mix - Apogee AD 8000 - Yamaha 02R console, to
    Pro Tools LE - Mbox2 Pro - Yamaha MG 24/14FX console.

    I did the setup the same way as the old one, and everythings’s working fine, except that the vocals now sound with a sort of short echo through the headphone, as well as in the monitors, although it isn’t recorded, just monitored. Any idea?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #2
    what's your playback engine in protools setup as?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
  4. macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    chicago
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #5
    Thanks everybody. Zimv20, you were right: enable low monitoring latency. It fixed the problem. I'm new with PTLE and I didn't know about this.

    Drumjim85 and pKoch1, the H/W Buffer size is 512 samples and the DAE Playback Buffer is 1500 ms, Level 2. Are these parameters OK to work?

    Thanks again:D
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Yeah, those settings should work. Just remember: lower Buffer Size = less latency. 512 samples is about 10ms of delay at a sample rate of 48k.
     

Share This Page