Echo while recording vocals

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by JoeLouis, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. JoeLouis
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I recently switched from:

    Pro Tools 24 Mix - Apogee AD 8000 - Yamaha 02R console, to
    Pro Tools LE - Mbox2 Pro - Yamaha MG 24/14FX console.

    I did the setup the same way as the old one, and everythings’s working fine, except that the vocals now sound with a sort of short echo through the headphone, as well as in the monitors, although it isn’t recorded, just monitored. Any idea?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Drumjim85
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #2
    what's your playback engine in protools setup as?
     
  3. pkoch1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
  4. zimv20
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
  5. JoeLouis
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #5
    Thanks everybody. Zimv20, you were right: enable low monitoring latency. It fixed the problem. I'm new with PTLE and I didn't know about this.

    Drumjim85 and pKoch1, the H/W Buffer size is 512 samples and the DAE Playback Buffer is 1500 ms, Level 2. Are these parameters OK to work?

    Thanks again:D
     
  6. pkoch1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    pkoch1

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Yeah, those settings should work. Just remember: lower Buffer Size = less latency. 512 samples is about 10ms of delay at a sample rate of 48k.
     

Share This Page