Eclipse question

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by wrldwzrd89, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #1
    If a Java app built in Eclipse hangs (due to getting into an infinite loop, for instance), the only way I can find to get it to terminate is to quit the IDE and restart it. Is there some sort of stop button I can use if I encounter this problem?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Katy, Texas
    #2
    I've caused Java loops when running from Terminal, and picking Apple Menu->Force Quit works great.

    Todd
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    The problem with that is that neither Eclipse nor the Java app shows up in the Force Quit dialog.:confused:
     
  4. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #4
    If you are running it from within Eclipse, switch to the Debug perspective and then take a look in the Debug view - it will contain a list of all the running threads. You can elect to stop them by selecting them and click the red square or right click and select Terminate.

    Learn more: http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/opensource/library/os-ecbug/
     
  5. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Thanks! I did not even know the Debug perspective existed until you pointed that out to me.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Does the red Terminate button work?
    It's been a while since I used Eclipse, though I'm sure it's always shown when you run a program.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #7
    You should introduce yourself and really get to know it :) This is probably one of the most important perspectives in Eclipse for Java developers.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #8
    Yep, this button should do what you want. It's on the 'Console' tab toolbar.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    Thank you, everyone. Problem solved.
     

Share This Page