Eclipse

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by trogdor!, Mar 30, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #1
    Anyone using the eclipse program for some of your programming needs? thoughts on it?
     
  2. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    I use it for all of my Java needs on Windows, OS X (PowerPC), and OS X (Intel). I love it, and it's well worth the price. ;)
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    I use it in Windows (mostly for Java). It is a very nice program. I give it a thumbs up.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Monterey,CA
    #4
    I use it for Java development, and I love it too. But I do want to complain that the UI can freeze once in a while, which means I have to kill and restart it. Other than that, I don't think you can beat the features and price.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    Ptui! Real programmers don't use IDEs.

    Anyway, netbeans is a nice alternative but eclipse probably has better 3rd party support (plugins etc)
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #6
    Yah, I use it for java programming in os X and in windows. I love how it compiles on the fly. It also is the first program Ive found for OS X that will let you program in java 1.5.
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    I hope you are being sarcastic. Many real programms use IDEs because of their efficiency.
     
  8. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    I'm impressed with your ability to view these forums with your green (or is it amber?) ASCII CRT. It's not blocked by stacks of punch cards, is it? ;)
     
  9. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #9
    Productive programmers do!

    To the OP, I use Eclipse (or IDEs based on it) everyday and I am happy thus far.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #10
    Have you ever known anyone to use "ptui!" with a serious comment, who wasn't French?

    Anyway, people should use what they are must productive using. I do program almost exclusively with the command line and vi, because I know all the vi shortcuts and like to control what exactly goes into every file.

    I also use command line scripts and pling extensively. You should see me building and deploying a war file to Tomcat on Linux, using a single script call on the command line, compared to a colleague who uses eclipse on Windows. You can't tell me that hunting for the Tomcat Monitor in the task bar, clicking Stop, hunting for the Explorer window containing the location of the war, selecting it, dragging to the webapps directory, hunting for Tomcat Monitor again and clicking start, is more productive than what I do (I'm sure there must be a more efficient way for him to do that, but since I'm ok doing it my way, I can't be bothered trying to find out).

    Also, since our code is built and unit tested nightly, any code I check in automatically works with the auto build scripts, while some other colleagues need to maintain two different build environments (again, they may just be too dumb to work out how to do it once, but again, it doesn't bother me).

    However, if I need to do extensive refactoring, I'll use eclipse because it's a huge pain doing it any other way, and I think it's a pretty good program. Edit: and like I said in my other comment, from what I've used, netbeans also seems to be a pretty good program.
     
  11. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #11
    I looked at Eclipse and dabbled in Project Builder, but I'm more seriously studying IntelliJ IDEA, which I now plan to use for some team-based cross-platform Java development.

    IntelliJ used to be missing a GUI designer, but the latest release has one. Lots of refactoring too.
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #12
    Acuatlly I have no idea what ptui means. :eek: :confused:
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    #13
    I use eclipse for perl and so far i like it better than emacs (even with cperl mode).
     
  14. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    FYI: ptui is the traditional way to show the sound one makes when spitting. Basically equivalent to the word phooey when showing disdain or mock disdain.
     
  15. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #15
    just out of curiosity, anyone here using eclipse on an intel mac? i know 3.2m5a is supposed to be a unibin, but for some reason it doesn't like my mac :(

    edit: oi, scratch that. it works now, guess the dock icon wasn't the unibin :eek:
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #16
    3.2m5a release that you mention, but in my experience Eclipse has never been all that happy with the OS X dock. (At least for the versions I have used spanning pre-official OS X support through 3.1.)

    It looks like Eclipse uses a loader program which then starts up the Eclipse environment. The problem is that if you start up Eclipse and then drag the application icon across the dock so it stays there and shutdown Eclipse then double clicking on the dock icon will not start up Eclipse. If instead you drag the loader program to the dock then you can click that to start Eclipse, but while Eclipse is running you will have two Eclipse icons in the dock.
     
  17. macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #17
    yeah, i know. it's been like that as far as i can remember.

    but my only problem was that i had the wrong loader in the dock - i have multiple copies of several applications because sometimes the unibin is screwey, or vice versa.
     

Share This Page