Editing DVD footage in FCPHD

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jtsimler3, Sep 2, 2004.

1. jtsimler3 macrumors member

jtsimler3

Hi. I'm a recent G5 buyer, and I also got FCP HD with my new computer. I'm an aspiring video editor at UT, and just had a quick question.

Is there a way to import an entire movie from a commercial dvd (ex. Spider-Man) into FCP so I can put it to music, etc?

I would just like to use the footage for exercise purposes, so I can get some practice. I have no intention of illegally duplicating them.

I have Handbrake, the ripping software, but unless I'm doing something wrong, I can't get FCP to recognize anything. Quicktime plays the mp4 file, but I'm pretty sure FCP won't. I can also rip as an avi file, but those don't seem to work either.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there another software I need to download/buy?

Thanks a bunch!

2. quidire macrumors 6502

quidire

Also curious about this...

One ridiculous hack would be to hook up a dvd player to eyeTV 200, as it now has the ability to export MPEG elementary streams.

-RS

3. wordmunger macrumors 603

wordmunger

Do you have Quicktime pro? If quicktime can play it, can't you just export it from quicktime in the format you want?

4. stoid macrumors 601

stoid

If he bought FCPHD, it came with a QT Pro authorization too.

Open it in QuickTime, and select Export from the file menu.
    Select 'Movie to QuickTime Movie'.
    Click the Options button.
    In Video Settings... select DV/DVCPRO - NTSC, and make note of the number of Frames per second.
    Set the Quality to Best.
    Set the Video Size... to 720 wide and 480 high.
    Put the Sound Settings... to None Compressed. Rate 44.100, 16 bit, Stereo.
    Don't worry about the Internet Streaming area.
    Click OK as needed to save the file wherever you want.

Now you are ready to take it into FCPHD! :eek:
    In FCPHD, start a New Sequence.