education dicounts??

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by synthetickittie, Feb 3, 2003.

1. synthetickittie macrumors regular

Im a high school student, I was woundering if there was a way I could buy some stuff at a mac store with the education discounts that I see listed on apples site? If I can how can I prove I got to the school I do in the first place and I woundering about that online, what would stop someone that doesnt work in a school or is a student themself from getting the discounts...

2. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

Rower_CPU

I'm pretty sure they check randomly for student ID or some sort of proof.

They didn't ask me anything when I got a PowerBook through the Apple Store a couple years ago.

3. janey macrumors 603

janey

you're a high school student? outta luck unfortunately...Apple has an education store but only gives discounts to K-12 schools and faculty and higher education students and teachers.

4. synthetickittie thread starter macrumors regular

ah dam but hell I guees having to have my mother as a teach in the same school as me might finally pay off a little (never accually had her as my teach tho). So if I went with her she could buy the everything at those discount in an apple store? One of the things that has a big amount off is macromedia mx studio, I normally let say um find other ways of getting the programs I want but I absolutly love flash and dreamweaver and have the money to get this stuff so I thought Id give back for programs very well devolped IMO.

5. janey macrumors 603

janey

lucky lucky. the only way i can get discounts right now from the Apple Store is if i use my dumb ADC hardware (only) discount.

6. tcolling macrumors member

Be inventive

Find a class at a local tech school (make sure its accredited, it will already be on the Apple site), take that, get your school ID, and order away!