Education discounts around the world

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by pmac, Jun 2, 2004.

1. pmac macrumors newbie

May 30, 2004
    Hi all,
    I am interested to know from all of you what sort of discount you get being a university student in various places. I understand in several places (the US and Australia) that the discount is 10% for any uni student.

I ask because I am a PhD student trying to buy a powerbook and unfortunately we don't have an online education store here in NZ. One place that I have enquired with says that you can only get a 10% discount if you buy directly using a university account which I may be able to do but would definitely take some organising.
    The actual 'student' discount they offer is pretty crap in comparison (about $80 on a $4000 computer). Another apple tertiary rep has quoted about 10% off retail. I have tried to ask him if this is also only buying through a university account (which the other store told me was a NZ-wide policy) but he has been really slow with any communication.
    Is this store trying to pull a swifty or do education discounts get applied like this in other countries as well? I feel a bit annoyed because this computer will be used almost entirely for research work and writing up but just because I am paying for it myself I may not be able to get a reasonable discount.
  2. micsaund macrumors 6502

May 31, 2004
    Colorado, USA
    About 10% for me here in Colorado, USA. $2500 PB15 goes for $2300. Some items are the full 10%, others are slightly less (like the PB15). I guess that Apple wanted to keep the prices "even" (here in the US, everything is xxx99.99 - it's stupid IMO). So, a full 10% would have been an "odd" number (~$2250) so they reduced the discount to achieve the "normal" price of $2299.

3. sambo. macrumors regular

Jun 2, 2004
    outback, far from the surf
    15% in Oz......

you get a 15% off retail (for everything) on the education discount in Oz.