Education only PowerMac

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by dhdave, Jul 22, 2002.

  1. dhdave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    Anybody have the "configured for education only" PowerMac 733? And if so are you satisfied with it? I'm thinking of getting one in September and I'd like to hear some opinions. I can't afford a better one. So don't tell me to buy the dual processor unit with the level 3 cache. It ain't gonna happen. :)

    It's an eMac, an iMac or the PM. I think I should go with the PM just for the expandiblility and the faster bus even though the iMac IS cool. Also I'll be running Virtual PC (so I can run MS visual studio 6.0) so I probably need the slight extra performance of the PM. Any thoughts?

    dh
     
  2. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    I am quite sure that the Edu. 733mhz will have been updated by September (that is if the current line is updated) I have a 733mhz as a graphics workstation at work and it works fine.

    Ensign
     
  3. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
  4. dhdave thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    I assume this will be the case as well, but you never know. If anything it will most likely just be a speed bump to 800mhz or so in the processor. Which, of course, would be fine by me. :)

    dh
     
  5. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #5
    I got the 733Mhz PM just after last MWNY, and I'm more than satisfied with speed, just wish I didn't have to shell out 129 &#;@ dollars for 10.2 and 30 for QuickTime, and 50 to keep my .Mac E-mail, but you've heard all that already, so I'll shutup.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    Just the ability to upgrade the graphics card will keep you happy a lot longer than an all-in-one will.

    The expandability and the upgradeability is definitely worth the cost of a monitor.

    Heck I've got a G4/400 Tower and don't really have a problem with it, I'd like to upgrade the video but have Apple's orphaned analog ADC monitor.
     
  7. dhdave thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    I love those monitors. I never realized that you were stuck with the card because of ADC. That sucks. :(

    dh
     
  8. digital1 macrumors 6502

    digital1

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #8
    Re: Education only PowerMac

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I am kind of in the same situation. I can't afford a dual, so I was looking at either moderately priced 800, decently configured 733 with lots of ram or an iMac. The New 17 in. is starting to look good. I am more constrained by the money here like the original poster. All your comments have been helpful BTW and whatever other advice you can offer that would be good.
     

Share This Page