Eject key doesn't work, and I can't activate WinXP.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ppc_michael, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Well, the title says it all. ;)

    I'm on an iMac. I installed Windows for the heck of it, following the instructions. Immediately after booting in to Windows I installed the Mac drivers.

    Apple specifically mentions that one driver is to get the Eject key to work, but it doesn't. I have a Bluetooth keyboard, and I know Windows has a hard time with that already, if that helps.

    Also, when trying to activate Windows, my serial number is said to be invalid. I've only activated it once before so I haven't over-activated. One thing though, I only had a Win XP SP1 disc, so I slipstreamed SP2. Would that change the activation code??

    Thanks!
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    I've found that the eject key is a pain to get working. It never worked on the bluetooth keyboard, but with the usb keyboard its fine.

    Also make sure you choose US keyboard, i found when I changed to English (Irish) on settings and ran the drivers, that also resulted in a non working eject button......
     
  3. MacAficionado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Location:
    An awesome place
    #3
    Yes, proof, Windows even sucks in a Mac.

    I don't know what makes people think otherwise!!!

    Not refering to you, try re installing the drivers. That's about the extent of the help I can offer, not having done this procedure myself.
     
  4. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #4
    I think there has to be at least one number in every group of letters for the CD key. I had the same problem until I realized I wrote a 6, not a G.

    something like: ABC1-DEF2-GHI3-JKL4- etc.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Yes if your copy isn't legit, if it is legit, you can get onto ms and get them to send you a updated xp=sp2 disc if you tell them your's is damaged/scratched..
     
  6. MacRumorsReader macrumors member

    MacRumorsReader

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #6
    Fyi

    In case you need it: The key combination to eject a disk (in XP) is ctrl-E.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    I didnt know that. That's handy MRR... Are you copying my Tag by the way ;) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
     
  8. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #8
    Or just phone them and they'll do something to activate it if it's legitimate (send you a new code? Something like that ... I haven't done it so I don't know).

    There's no copy protection on the XP install disks, and you can make as many copies of it as you want and slipstream SP2 onto it. You just need a license, ie. valid activation code.

    Of course, getting an updated SP2 disk would be easier than slipstreaming your own, but slipstreaming isn't difficult. (I'm going to push www.nliteos.com again.)
     
  9. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    The activation only can happen once. It places the hardware info of that machine onto MS servers. So no other machine with different hardware can use that key. So you have to phone them up and they will say "we don't like doing this but we will reset it this once for you"
     
  10. lad1509 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    #10
    no offense but you guys crack me up! how is it Miscrosofts fault that apple didn't code a good driver for their keyboards eject button!?
    or how is it their fault when a user trys to activate the same OS software in multiple machines??
    you are not allowed to activate the same copy in more than one machine!
    it happened to me, so I called them and they asked me if it was on 2 machines and I said not anymore... its on my imac, (the guy thought I was making it up, I installed XP the first day apple released BC.)
    anyway, he cleared it from their servers and it worked.
     
  11. MacRumorsReader macrumors member

    MacRumorsReader

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #11
    :) :D :)

    No! Otherwise I would be MacRumorUserReader ;)

    I didn't really want to register, so I didn't come up witha clever name. It wasn't until later that I saw your name.

    Now, I just follow you around hoping to confuse someone! :eek: :p :D

    jk (in case I need to put that)
     
  12. Whiteapple macrumors regular

    Whiteapple

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Haute Savoie,France
    #12
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=192148

    Sorry I had to

    :p :)
     
  13. skillz1318 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #13
    any ideas why my eject key wouldn't work, i installed all drivers, and the apple command key even mapped to the windows key so i know the drivers are installed, could it have messed up and not remapped the eject key on my macbook pro? should i just run driver install again?
     
  14. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    What language and keyboard layout did you choose to install when putting in XP? I found it only works if you stick to US layout.
     
  15. skillz1318 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #15
    im assuming us layout, i dont speak any other languages...its just weird that the apple key works as a windows key so it seems like drivers should be working....ill prob try to reinstall later
     

Share This Page