Ejecting disks on an iMac Core Duo

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by uelef, May 3, 2006.

  1. uelef macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #1
    Is there any way to eject a disk on an iMac Core Duo (Intel) without using the keyboard or pressing the mouse on startup?
    I got the problem that I only own an update CD-ROM of Win XP and installing it via BootCamp Win XP tells me to insert my copy of an older Windows version (I also own an Win 2k CD). But I found no way to get the CD out of the drive during the installation of Win XP because they keyboard key for ejecting is not activate yet...
    Can anyone help me?

    Ulf
     
  2. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Does the famous bent paperclip remedy still apply to newer Macs?
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    The Boot Camp instructions specifically say that upgrade versions won't work.
     
  4. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #4
    This might not work if the Intel machines can not boot to open-firmware

    Directions on how to boot to FrimWare and eject a disk.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    He's trying to eject from inside the Windows installer, so dropping into firmware won't really help :)
     
  6. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    The only two ways I can think of off the top of my head to eject a stuck CD require some sort of input from the keyboard or mouse:

    1) Press the option key on startup, boot to Mac OS X, and eject the CD from there (requires pressing option key on keyboard).
    2) Hold mouse button down to eject CD at startup. (Requires holding the mouse).

    Edit: Or are you saying these didn't work? Forgive me if this is the case.

    Edit 2: Oh, you're trying to swap disks during installation of Windows XP. I see ... don't look at my post! I am ashamed of myself. :(
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    There are various threads explaining how to use an upgrade CD with Boot Camp in the Windows on Mac forum. I personally installed from my XP Home SP2 Upgrade CD by copying the content of both the XP install CD and an ME install CD onto a single DVD-R blank along with the Boot Campe Drivers.

    The easiest way by far is to put the upgrade verification disk in an external USB optical drive.

    B
     
  8. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #8
    Considering that the Intel Macs don't use OpenFirmware... ;)
     
  9. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #9
    This sounds like the easiest solution - thanks. I guess itwill also work with Win XP Professional and Win 2000. Do I have to care about something special - e.g. burning the DVD-R with Toast (autostart? formatting? etc.)?
    Can you give me a link to a thread where all this is discussed and explained?

    Ulf
     
  10. Vaphoron macrumors 6502

    Vaphoron

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    I used my external firewire DVD drive and it worked great.
     
  11. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #11
    Good idea - unfortunately I don't own one... I only got a firewire harddisk...
     
  12. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #12
    As I wrote - I do not own a firewire DVD drive but I got another idea. Maybe it works to put the Win 2k CD-ROM into my PowerBook and then I could connect the PowerBook with the iMac using the firewire target modus of the PB. I will try out this later when I'm at home again...
    This would be the most convenient way to solve the problem for me :)
     
  13. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #13
    I didn't think Target mode extended to the optical drive, but as you requested earlier here's one of the other threads on this from the WoM forum.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=192164

    You might run into some issues merging XP and 2K since they both use an i386 folder unlike XP Home & Win9x.

    If you get it to work, using any method, please write it up for the forums.

    B
     
  14. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #14
    Well, the firewire target mode with my PowerBook didn't solve the problem. I now will try the other method copying Win XP update and an older version of Windows onto an DVD. Well it's no problem for me that it might not work with Win 2k because I also own a copy of Win 98. Until six years ago I was Windows user - so I still have those Windows CD-ROMs...

    Thanks for your help... hope the DVD method works...

    Ulf
     
  15. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #15
    Ok, I made it so far - but now I have to compile cdrtools - and I do not know how to do:

    The instrucktion says:
    "You'll need to download and compile cdrtools (http://freshmeat.net/projects/cdrecord/) to get access to the mkisofs program. (Quick overview on compiling it: Download it, extract it, change into the directory you extracted it into, type make, wait for it to finish, then sudo make install)."

    I guess I must do this in Terminal.app - but when I changed into the directory of cdrtools and type "make" nothing happens but Terminal.app says: "-bash: make: command not found" - so what's wrong? I never compiled a file with Terminal.app...

    Help!

    Can't I use Toast to make the iso-file?
     
  16. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    Sounds like you don't have Xcode installed.

    I actually used Nero on my Dell, and you could probably use Toast, or get a precompiled cdrtools from fink or darwinports.

    B
     
  17. uelef thread starter macrumors member

    uelef

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Location:
    Germany, Wuerzburg
    #17
    Yes, XCode is not installed on my Mac... I tried to use Toast but the DVD was not bootable according to the iMac... I do not know which settings I have to use in Toast... Mac & PC? ISO ? But ISO is only for CDs... I'm a bit confused...
     

Share This Page