Elgato eyetv Useless

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by A7X21112, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. macrumors member

    A7X21112

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    hey guys sorry for posing a new thread couldnt find one ?

    Ok so heres the deal i have an elgato eyetv hybrid and i have it hooked up through analog. Does this mean i wont be able to use my elgato coming
    2-17-09.i have Cox cable and i have a DVR and and digital cable but i cant figure out if i can somehow put it in digital?

    Please help.

    Thanks:apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    PcBgone

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
  3. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Cable companies will not be required to terminate analog transmissions, only over the air analog transmissions are being forced to shut down, replaced by digital OTA signals. People that use cable shouldn't notice any difference.

    http://www.dtv.gov/consumercorner.html#faq30
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #4
    I'm returning my eyeTV since it only allows me to view basic cable. Therefore, I'd call it useless as well
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    You should be able to view unscrambled basic cable and un-encrypted digital cable (Clear QAM) with EyeTV products. I think you could connect their products to the output of your cable box (if you have one) to view/record premium channels, but it would be an analog connection and I'm not sure you could control channels using the EyeTV software, etc.

    Anyway, not sure I would call it useless for that -- for me it's much better than not being able to view and record basic cable, especially since that's all I have anyway. I can see how it wouldn't do much for a lot of people, though.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #6
    When everything goes digital you will have a set top box on every tv....so use the svideo in on ur eyetv and go from there.....
     

Share This Page