elgato turbo h.264 accel

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by spacepower7, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #1
    New product under development? Looks like Elgato are making a h.264 encoder (USB 2.0) for high speed conversions.

    http://www.macnews.de/news/98679

    http://blogs.sun.com/seapegasus/entry/turbo_quicktime_encoding


    Looks promising


    "I just wanted to show this (macnews) and this (MacWelt) to a colleague of mine, but noticed that there are no English articles to be found describing this new piece of hardware, so I just write one myself.

    Elgato Turbo 264 is an external CPU in a USB stick. When you encode a lot of H.264 Quicktime movies (for iPod or Apple TV), you know how it maxes out your Mac's CPU(s), and still takes between 4h and 20h to encode one movie? Right, so the idea is to let this specialized additional CPU do the encoding for you, and take off the load of the main CPU.

    The main advantage is of course speed: The tested prototype's statistics for encoding a 1 min long 640x480 video on a Mac with 2 G5 CPUs are: 3.5 min (without turbo), versus 46 secs (with turbo). Presumably, if you already have an uber-fast Mac Pro, the speed gain is less noticable, but for everybody else it should make a big difference.

    The included software comes with a plugin that adds the hardware encoding option to the Quicktime Exporter menus, e.g. in EyeTV, iMovie and Quicktime Player Pro. It also support a video format compatible with Sony Playstations somewhere. If you don't have Quicktime pro, you can get the functionality (*) included in the stand-alone version of the product.

    And why am I advertising it? Let's say I might know someone who may or may not possibly have had a hand (or two) involved in the development of the software's spiffy GUI. ;-) (Sources: MacWelt and MacNews)

    PS: (*) To be more clear, the stand-alone version does not contain a QuickTime Pro license, but something with equivalent functionality by Elgato."
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    Wow! Anything To Encode mp4 Faster I'm All Over It

    I want one now.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #3
  4. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
  5. macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #5
    They did the same exact thing with the eyetv hybrid. Check out the hauppauge 950. I bought the 950 for $60 after rebates from Circuit city. Plugged it into my mac and EyeTV 2.0 recognized it as an eyetv hybrid and it works perfectly. Same exact hardware.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    $60 Vs. $150 !! That's Crazy MacEnforcer

    Thanks for telling us NOW?!?!?! They resell it for $150! Holy Sh*t! :eek: :mad:

    Why weren't you enforcing our bad buying decisions before now!! :mad:
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    #8
    WOW! That is freaking awesome; the 950 would totally make DVR on my Imac economically feasible and set aside money for the turbo. Hmm, I wonder if the net amount of this 950, which is still on sale from Circuit City, plus a Turbo with an :apple: TV and hard drive upgrade is a tipping scale in my decision to go from Mac Mini to Apple Tv for a media center...
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #9
    Thanks

    Thanks for the info about the hauppauge 950.

    I have seen that and a Pinnacle version of the same hardware at Circuit City and Microcenter.

    Since I have a $50 credit at Circuit City, I am going to go pick up a hauppauge 950 tomorrow for $10 ($30 - $20 rebate) more. I bought a copy of EyeTV when it was on sale for $40 awhile ago. So now I can have an EyeTV hybrid for $10 out of pocket. Awesome.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #10
    This seems like it would only be useful for older/slower machines. My Mac Pro can already encode SD res 1500kbps .h264 in 2x real time.
     
  11. macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #11
    What Transcode Workflow Laslo?

    How? What workflow?
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #12
    I use handbrake settings:

    mp4 h.264 main profile
    1500kbps video, 128kbps AAC
    average output file size for 2 hour movie - a little over 1 gig.

    I usaually average around 65-70 FPS encoding, so on 23fps movie that's 2-2.5x faster than realtime. The resolution of the movies varies due to different widescreen aspect ratios that the movies were shot in, but all are at least 720 pixels wide. My Mac Pro chews through renders much faster than my old 2ghz G5, it's scary.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #13
    just out of intrest - what FPS would you be getting using normal Mpeg setting (no h.264) on 2500k and 160 for audio ?

    i get round 50-65 on a Core2 1.83
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #14
    I have no idea, I haven't used handbrake to encode regular mp4. I'll try a sample using the above settings and get back to you.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #15
    thanks if you crunch through H.264 at that speed i would be very intrested in dropping the money down on a Mac Pro like yours


    awaiting the results :)
     
  16. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #16
    If that doesn't give a hint at Leopard's GUI I don't know what does.
     
  17. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I'm already out of USB ports. A FireWire version would be more to my liking.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #18
    Apple is supposed to include built in encoding support in future graphics cards.
     
  19. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    You mean that the current video cards do have encoding support. Apple just hasn't made drivers to enable it.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #20
    That I didn't know.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    That's wishful thinking.
     
  22. macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #22
    Is that particularly impressive? My MacBook CD encodes SD @ 2000 kbps MPEG-4 at 2x real time as well, around 50-60 fps average.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #23
    Averaging 85fps, the video resolution is 720x304.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #24
    It's much better than my old G5, so yeah, it's impressive to me. A Mac Pro would be much faster if mediafork/handbrake was optimized better, it usually only uses between 130-150% of CPU. I use episode to encode for none DVD rips, it utilizes all 4 cores efficiently.
     
  25. macrumors member

    RazorWriter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #25
    Unfortunately, the Hauppage does not come with the EyeTV software either, which Elgato sells for $80. Together, they add up to the Hybrid's price.
    http://www.elgato.com/index.php?file=shop_onlineshop

    I think the software UI here is probably the most important thing, so if you don't already own the EyeTV software, is there any other way to use this tuner?
     

Share This Page