emac as monitor

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dukebound85, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    I did a search on this but nothing really came up. I was wondering if anyone know how to convert an emac to an external monitor? Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    As far as I know it's not possible, unless you were able to totally disassemble the machine, find the monitor input cable and create your own pinout on the end, for plugging in to a computer. Sounds like a lot of work to me, and working around CRT monitors is very dangerous. High voltage+ a vacuum=bad.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Why, though?

    Is the motherboard shot? What type of monitor, for another computer, or a video/VCR type thing?

    There is no input on an eMac for a video signal, so you could either

    1) run the eMac as a Mac and use a USB-TV converter for slow, jerky and low resolution response, or

    2) use VNC or a variant to run another machine from the eMac for slow, jerky and somewhat higher resolution response, or

    3) Destroy the eMac and somehow bring out the monitor connection to the outside to pipe a SVGA signal into the monitor - will involve hacking the electronics and a finite chance of electrocuting yourself, or

    4) just spend $50 - 120 on a used or new 17" CRT, or $200 - 300 on a 19" flat panel monitor and abandon the whole insane idea.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    dnag thats something i did not want to hear lol. thanks for the help though
     
  5. thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5

    Well I plan on getting a macbook and would like to be able to use my emac's screen if I need the space at some point. If there was a simple solution, why not? Owell, guess I'll just get a cheap monitor. Thanks for the help
     

Share This Page