emac can't fit airport card in?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by cyberdiamond, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. cyberdiamond macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #1
    I have a 800Mhz emac and have undone the two screws behind the cd draw.

    I am trying to fit an airport card in (not extreme) but it seems the card is too wide to fit in the slot.

    Is there a 'trick' to this :confused:

    tia
     
  2. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #2
    The two different airport cards fit in different size slots. The current emacs only take airport extreme cards. I'm not sure what sort of card you machine takes...
     
  3. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    Well, looks like there were two different 800 MHz eMacs. One uses the old AirPort card, and the other uses the newer AirPort Extreme. Are you sure you don't have the newer model?
     
  4. cyberdiamond thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #4
    I admit I know bugger all about macs (just the basics)
    Its a white machine with a 40G hard drive.
    How do I know if its the earlier or later (its only about 6months old if that)

    The only other machine I could put it in is the i-mac DV but it looks like it needs an adapter or something.

    Btw I only need to install it to upgrade the firmware to 128 bit on the card.
     
  5. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    If it's only 6 months old, then it definately is an AirPort Extreme eMac. You cannot install your AirPort card into it.
     
  6. marvbloke macrumors newbie

    marvbloke

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    ...but you should be able to use your Airport Card in your other iMac DV machine. You'll need the AirPort Card Adaptor ($19.99 from the Apple Store). This is designed for slot-loading G3 iMacs to use AirPort cards.
     
  7. cyberdiamond thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #7
    I don't really want to buy an adaptor to put in the i-mac DV for 5mins work then not use it again.

    Thanks for all of your help at least now I know.
     

Share This Page