eMac leopard performance?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by adcx64, May 9, 2011.

  1. macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #1
    Hi, I am planning to upgrade my emac to leopard, do you think it will run well on my configuration?

    emac USB 2.0:

    1ghz g4
    1 gb ram
    Ati radeon 9200 graphics, idk if core image is supported on this..
    40 gb HD.


    Also, do u think it is worth running tiger if core image isn't supported?
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It will run a bit slow, but still usable. The lack of hardware Core Image may hurt.
     
  3. MacHamster68, May 9, 2011
    Last edited: May 9, 2011

    macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    leopard will deliver if you upgrade to 2GB ram (possible because yours is a usb2.0 model with 167mhz bus speed and practically only the downclocked education model of the 1.25 ghz eMac )a bit less performance then on your iBook , the lack of core image is not that noticeable on every day tasks

    but if you upgrade to the full 2 GB and leave tiger on that eMac it will start to fly , install TenFourFox browser and your internet experience comes to a new level too
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #4
    Leopard ran quicker than tiger on my g4 quicksilver, just my personal experience
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    I'm typing this on a 450 mhz Cube running 10.5.8. I upgraded the video to some kind of of ATI Radeon; System profiler reports "Core Image - Software; Quartz Extreme - supported"

    It's not a bad machine -- I've actually done work in Photoshop Elements and regularly use it for light web surfing (stay away from flash!), iCal and mail.app.

    iWork Pages '09 isn't the snappiest thing ever but it's useable.

    And I have half the processor you do and only 512 mb ram!

    So go for it!
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #6
    Overclock the CPU to 1.25ghz and it will run much better.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #7
    I'm not sure how you're making that happen. Leopard on my Cube which is 500MHz and 1.5GB of RAM is pretty rough. And thats with a Radeon 7500 graphics card too.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    Don't know if it matters but it's had the hard disk replaced as well. I mean it's certainly not as snappy as any of my intel macs; there is waiting at times -- scrolling is a bit choppy at times, the processor can get bogged down pretty easily -- heck iTunes music playback uses like 25% cpu.

    But I only paid about $120 for it about two years ago and it's been quite useful. Plus it looks cool. The only think it can't really do that I wish it could is to play hulu and netflix.
     

Share This Page