eMac second monitor

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by petr fajkos, Nov 6, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Czech Rebpulic, Europe
    #1
    hello,
    is it possible to connect to new 1Ghz eMac second monitor and use it as real second monitor to enlarge desktop (not mirror of built-in monitor)?

    the best would be connect 21inch screen, set it as main monitor end eMac screen use as secondary... is it possible?

    thanks a lot
    peter
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #2
    Here ya go,

    http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html

    I did it on my emac and it worked great, The only thing is, the video card then dedicates 16 megs of video ram to each monitor, making things at time seem a little slugish, i.e expose. Let me know how it turns out.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #3
    Laslo, what model eMac did you do that to? My dad has one, and would love to extend his desktop, but AFAIK it was not possible. I think he has a 700mhz model from a little over a year ago. Is that in the "unsupported" catagory?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    Czech Rebpulic, Europe
    #4
  5. macrumors 65816

    Laslo Panaflex

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #5
    yeah, in order for the hack to work you need to have the radeon card in your machine since the card supports dual monitors. I think that any emac 800mhz or faster it will work on, mine is 800.
     

Share This Page