eMac vs iMac G3?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iCaleb, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Are the Emacs better?

    Can you run leopard on a 1.42ghz Emac?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Yep, although you'll need at least 512mb of RAM. More to run it smoothly.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    ok yes the eMac 1.42 is faster then a iMac g3 , and yes it will run leopard ,
    ok i would never run leopard on a ppc Mac , tiger runs way better as it was developed to run on the eMac , leopard does focus already to much on intel Mac's and was only a stopgap for snow leopard

    and the eMac 1.42 should be upgraded to the full 2 gb ram to see is full potential

    but the iMac g3 700mhz runs very well with 1gb ram
    does everything as good as a eMac 700mhz , as only apps which can make use of the altivec in the G4 will run better in the eMac
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    Leopard runs fine with 1gb+ ram on an eMac. And what are you talking about? :confused: Leopard was the revolutionary OS while Snow Leopard was the refinement of leopard with intel and 64 bit optimization. Tiger is at the end of the line for software while many things still support leopard even on the PPC.
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    in my mini g4 1.42 and in my eMac 1.42 the leopard performance was hmm not up to standard to be polite, but on the iMac g5 it was running sufficient enough , but i installed there tiger too as most software still has as minimum requirement osx tiger , and all my ppc Mac's build after 2000 are running osx tiger and soon my intel iMac too
     
  6. macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    yes the eMac will be better than a G3, and I ran leopard on a g4 powerbook and it wasn't too bad so as long as you have enough ram leopard should run fine.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #7
    I have a 1.42 GHz eMac and it is indeed better than the iMac G3. Though it's heavier (the one thing about eMacs I don't like), it has a better display, and the 2004-2006 models had USB 2.0 ports, while iMac G3s only had USB 1.1. In addition, not all iMac G3s had FireWire ports (the eMac does) or Wi-Fi support. And of course, most eMacs can run Leopard while the iMac G3s cannot. I actually think the 1.42 GHz eMac G4 even outperforms the latest iMac G4.

    In fact, the G3 and G4 processor difference seems rather big. I remember when the first PowerMac G4 "Yikes" model came out, it was for the most part identical to the B&W PowerMac G3, but with a 350-400 MHz G4 processor, and if you ran the two side by side, the "Yikes" would easily outperform the G3, and would probably run pre-Leopard OS X versions better than the G3 would.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    With the release of Tiger a lot of software companies will ditch support for Tiger altogether. :(
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #9
    Eh? I think PowerPC software will diminish long before leopard has run its coarse.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    #10
    emac vs imac g3

    :DI think that the eMac is way better. The iMac g3 is really cool and it is one of my favorite apple products but the eMac is the win because: 1. It runs a Apple OS X
    2. It's still old but newer than the imac
    3. WI-FI! The eMac can use WI-FI. The iMac only uses FireWire.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I give up on stopping people from stumbling upon threads on google and bringing them back from the dead...

    so heres a cat sleeping with a duck

    [​IMG]
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    mayuka

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #12
    That's a myth. While this is true for early versions of Leopard (I think until 10.5.3), it is not for the last/latest version of Leopard. In fact, some underlying components such as graphics and Spotlight have been greatly improved, when compared to Tiger. I'm using my Powerbook G4 with the latest Leopard for live performances, where timing and performance is vital. Never had any hick-hups or dropouts with Traktor and Ableton. The only thing that feels a bit slower is the Dock. You can change it into the faster 2D mode, though.
     
  13. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #13
    1. Even the oldest iMac can run OS X
    2. Not completely true. The eMac was introduced in April 2002. The iMac G3 was killed off in March 2003, so there are certainly several iMac G3's newer than some eMacs out there.
    3. ...I'm not sure I can properly set this straight. Early models of the iMac G3 lacked both wi-fi and FireWire. Later on, FW and wi-fi capability were added to the line. The eMac always has had FW, and an option for wi-fi.


    :rolleyes:
     
  14. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #14
    All emacs were g4s right? I don't recall there being a g3
     
  15. macrumors 603

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #15
    Indeed they were; pretty much took the iMac G3 design and modernized it.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #16
    I don't if modernized is the word. Perhaps "updated" would be a bit more accurate. They still use the CRT and look similar.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    I'd use the words "toned-down", "not as loud (design-wise)", "more subtle" and "easier to take in / doesn't stand out as much".
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #18
    It's +/- true only when you have CI capable graphics card. 10.5 GUI is more CI dependent than 10.4 one. If all eye candy is rendered by CPU (when your GPU does not handle CI) you'll see a significant slow down in 10.5 in comparison with Tiger.

    ...and shame on us, necro-thread-philes ;) :p :D
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #19
    Haha! :D

    Yes, having a CI (and QE for that matter) capable GPU is one of the most important things if you want to run Leopard. That's why I went for a 17" last revision iMac G4 instead of a 15" or an earlier model.
     

Share This Page