eMac won't accept blank CD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Cindy, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #1
    I'm wanting to copy some stuff onto a CD but when I insert the blank CD, it just pops it out (opens up). What gives??
     
  2. macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    Did you try another blank CD? Or another brand?
     
  3. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    Some eMac models only have a CD-ROM drive rather than a combo or super.

    Have you been able to burn on this machine before?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #4
    This is exactly what my CD-ROM drive in my iBook G3 used to do when I inserted a blank CD. If it was a disk error or a drive error, I would expect it to put up a message telling you that the disk is unreadable, or something like that. That, or it would just spin up and down forever.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #5
    MIne is the 800 MHz PowerPC G4. Knowing my luck... it probably doesn't have a CD-RW drive! I don't remember if I ordered a combo drive. I see in my specs that it only says CD-ROM. In that area, it should say CD-RW also?
    No, I have never burned anything - never had a need til now.
     
  6. macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Okay, check the System Profiler then (About This Mac, then more info...). Under Hardware->ATA, what does it show as installed?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #7
    If it says CD-ROM in your specs, then that's your answer. It will either say CD-ROM, Combo or SuperDrive to indicate which drive you have. My guess is that this is the ATi Graphics eMac, in which the lower-end model was an 800 MHz G4 with a 32x CD-ROM drive.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #8
    That's what I was afraid of! It says nothing about a combo drive. Oh well. :(
    I wish I hadn't opened up the package of blanks. Didn't pay too much for them.
    I work at a university, (they have Macs) I can check there and see if they have CD-RW acceptable computers and maybe I can do what I need to do there.

    If something is burned onto a CD from a PC, can a Mac read it? What does one need to do for that to happen?
    I had someone burn a short video on a CD for me -- they had a PC and my Mac couldn't read it.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #9
    same problem!

    I have tha same problem with cd-rw...
    on my Mac, it shows as installed:
    "HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N"
    is it the same issue? what can i do?
    thanks
     

Share This Page