eMac won't accept blank CD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Cindy, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. Cindy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #1
    I'm wanting to copy some stuff onto a CD but when I insert the blank CD, it just pops it out (opens up). What gives??
     
  2. ITASOR
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    Did you try another blank CD? Or another brand?
     
  3. iMeowbot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #3
    Some eMac models only have a CD-ROM drive rather than a combo or super.

    Have you been able to burn on this machine before?
     
  4. dsharits
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #4
    This is exactly what my CD-ROM drive in my iBook G3 used to do when I inserted a blank CD. If it was a disk error or a drive error, I would expect it to put up a message telling you that the disk is unreadable, or something like that. That, or it would just spin up and down forever.
     
  5. Cindy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #5
    MIne is the 800 MHz PowerPC G4. Knowing my luck... it probably doesn't have a CD-RW drive! I don't remember if I ordered a combo drive. I see in my specs that it only says CD-ROM. In that area, it should say CD-RW also?
    No, I have never burned anything - never had a need til now.
     
  6. iMeowbot
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Okay, check the System Profiler then (About This Mac, then more info...). Under Hardware->ATA, what does it show as installed?
     
  7. dsharits
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    dsharits

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Location:
    The People's Republic of America
    #7
    If it says CD-ROM in your specs, then that's your answer. It will either say CD-ROM, Combo or SuperDrive to indicate which drive you have. My guess is that this is the ATi Graphics eMac, in which the lower-end model was an 800 MHz G4 with a 32x CD-ROM drive.
     
  8. Cindy
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #8
    That's what I was afraid of! It says nothing about a combo drive. Oh well. :(
    I wish I hadn't opened up the package of blanks. Didn't pay too much for them.
    I work at a university, (they have Macs) I can check there and see if they have CD-RW acceptable computers and maybe I can do what I need to do there.

    If something is burned onto a CD from a PC, can a Mac read it? What does one need to do for that to happen?
    I had someone burn a short video on a CD for me -- they had a PC and my Mac couldn't read it.
     
  9. leticia
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    #9
    same problem!

    I have tha same problem with cd-rw...
    on my Mac, it shows as installed:
    "HL-DT-ST DVDRW GSA-S10N"
    is it the same issue? what can i do?
    thanks
     

Share This Page