eMate upgrades

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by pEZ, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. pEZ
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #1
    I have an old eMate 300. There are so many new ways to connect to OS X, that I have decided to start using it again. The thing is, I have come to realize that it really doesn't have as much storage space as I need, plus, as people have mentioned in other threads before, it is a bit slower than the MessagePad 2000 and 2100. Does anyone have any suggestions on adding memory (internal or PCMCIA, if you can still get the internal memory) and any ideas for speed boosts?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    Contact NewerRam.com.
    The have the memory.
    If you can't find it, give them an email.

    My eMate is still under warranty.
    I bought it 3 years ago from CompUSA, and purchased the 5year warranty. The only problem is that it didn't come with the software CD. Do you know where I can get a copy of it?

    Good machine- to bad the batteries are so strange.
     
  3. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #3
    links

    The two best links I have found regarding everything newton are the United Network of Newton Archives and the Apple Support Archives:

    http://www.unna.org
    ftp://ftp.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/

    I'm currently developing a website regarding the eMate and only the eMate because even though it's the most recent system, it's one of the hardest to find good information and software for. I'll let you know when I finish it up.

    Gotta decide on a domain name first......
     
  4. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #4
    battery

    And what do you mean by "the batteries are strange"?
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #5
    Aside from being difficult to replace (I have two), they are not of the I'll just run down to Radio-Shack and order a replacement kind. It just seemed to me that if the Newton 2100 and 2200 had a cartridge so that a person could use AA's, so should the eMate.

    I still love the computer, and until recently, it was my main “field work” computer. It’s perfect for working in remote areas with out worrying about risking a lot of cash should it be damaged or destroyed. The text-to-speech function (never officially released) is/was one of the features that I used most.

    I tried using a Handspring Visor with keyboard for working in sketchy environments, but it just kept freezing or cutting out. Now I use a QuickPad Pro for some of my work. My little QuickPad Pro survived and worked after a bus I was in sank into a river in Cambodia. It’s slow, data transfer is a pain in the rear, but it runs for hours on AA’s.
     
  6. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #6
    memory module

    I e-mailed NewerRam and they said that they did not carry that type of RAM anymore, as I expected (considering the age of the eMate). Any other ideas for speed?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #7
  8. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #8
  9. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #9
    http://www.thisoldnewt.net/index2.html
    Might help.

    http://www.jksalesinc.com/
    Was where I previously purchased a spare eMate battery.
    Then it looked to be a text only site.

    Can't even find it on eBay. I am headed to my local Apple repair shop to see what they have in their graveyard. Perhaps there is a damaged eMate with the memory upgrade there.
     
  10. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #10
  11. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #11
    Watch out, I contacted 2 venders who clamed to have memory.
    In talking with them (toll free) I found that they were selling the 5v flash cards.

    I think that I will dig my eMate out of the closet and see if I can improve the preformance with out altering the memory.

    By the way, the memory upgrade really does make a diffrence in speed.
     
  12. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #12
    speed

    The only thing that I've done to improve the speed is by using Avi's Backdrop - I was using the Newton Underground backdrop, but Avi's made it a bit snappier.

    Let me know if you find any of the chips available. I know they'll be expensive as heck, but whatever.

    Will flash memory improve the performance, or is it only the internal upgrade chip that helps?
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    I just purchased and received my 2100 with the battery cage. From what I have heard, the only way to replace the batteries on your emate is to refurbish them.

    http://www.pda-soft.de

    This site has info on taking your battery apart and replacing the old batteries with new ones. Since I have the battery cage (along with 2-4 packs of 1800mAh batteries, I am not really worried about using the original Newton battery pack.

    Also, if you want a cheap alternative to the hard to find Newton adapter, the Newton I received came with a regulated 300mAh (1.5-12v) power converter from radio shack. I plugged it in, after choosing the appropriate setting, and it worked. It should work on the eMate just as easily.
     
  14. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Kepler-452b
    #14
    Re: links

    How about onlytheemate.com?

    How? I've got two eMates that still work but I never considered connecting them to an OS X Mac.
     
  15. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #15
    connecting to OS X

    Spend some quality time with your local http://www.versiontracker.com website.

    Type in "Newton" in the search field, and take a look at NewtSync, Newtourage, and NewTen. Excellent up-and-coming apps for newton connectivity to OS X. The wave of the future meets better PDA technology.
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #16
    Some simple names below, from NetworkSolutions info.

    emate300.com is available.
    emate300.net is available.
    emate300.org is available.
    emate300.info is available.

    It dosn't look like you have to get to inventive about the name.
     
  17. pEZ
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #17
    but......

    I think I want to be inventive. After all, I am discussing an Apple product.

    I thought about greenmachine.com, but there are too many things related to the phrase green machine, including both a drum corps and a vacuum, so maybe not.

    Back to Dreamweaver.....
     
  18. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Kepler-452b
    #18
    Re: but......

    These seem to be available:

    theclamshell.org

    eteam300.com (an anagram)

    the-eteam.org (an anagram and play on "The A-Team")

    newtonlives.com

    ematingbehavior.com

    applemate.com

    appleemate.com
     

Share This Page