Enable Quartz 2D Extreme full-time

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Daveman Deluxe, May 2, 2005.

  1. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #1
    From Infinite Loop:

    To enable Quartz 2D Extreme in Tiger without using the Quartz Debug application, open a terminal window and type

    PHP:
    sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver Quartz2DExtremeEnabled -boolean YES
    http://arstechnica.com/journals/apple.ars/2005/5/2/193
     
  2. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    I am a little lost. I have an iBook that is the current generation. I know my video card does not support core image. But Can I / Should I run Quartz 2D Extreme? or is that the same thing as Core Image?

    Im a little lost. :( sorry
     
  3. toneloco2881 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    Your video card also won't support Quartz 2D.
     
  4. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    So what is it I run right now with 10.3.9?
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Quartz Extreme, which is not the same as Quartz 2D Extreme or CoreImage (or CoreVideo, which is also not the same as CI). Confuddling! :rolleyes:
     
  6. SLCentral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ/Ithaca, NY
    #6
    So, does enabling it make it faster or slower if I have a Core Image capable card (9700 Mobility 128MB)?
     
  7. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #7
    Not true I thought. Coreimage needs a shader 2.0 enabled card, but I was under the impression that any card that supported Quartz Extreme would also support Quartz 2D Extreme.

    Its a completely different thing from CoreImage.
     
  8. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #8
    Why would I want to do this? Does it accelerate the GUI even more?
     
  9. wrc fan macrumors 65816

    wrc fan

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    In a world where LPs are made like pancakes
    #9
    Like SLCentral said, what does it do? I enabled it and I don't see/feel any difference. Oh maybe it's just my computers so fast anyway I can't tell? :p
     
  10. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #10
    Quartz 2D Extreme runs on any GeForce FX GPU and on all ATI Radeon graphics cards numbered 9600 and higher.

    You run Quartz Extreme, which differs from Quartz 2D Extreme in that in the former, only the Quartz Compositor is run on the GPU, whereas the latter runs the Quartz Compositor, backing stores, and the Quartz 2D rendering code all on the GPU. This results in decreased processor load since the CPU only has to send instructions to the GPU instead of also being required to render those instructions. It also decreases latency since data does not have to be shuffled in and out of system RAM to draw the screen.

    Quartz Extreme runs on any NVIDIA GeForce 2 or higher and also on any ATI Radeon card. It requires 16 MB of VRAM.

    The issue is not that your graphics card is Core Image-capable, but that it is a Radeon 9600 or higher. Quartz 2D Extreme should improve frame rates, and it should also free up your CPU to do other processing tasks, thereby making your whole system faster.

    You need to re-launch any running applications to see any difference because an application has to know at launch time that the computer is Quartz 2D Extreme enabled.

    I should add the caveat that you may see display artifacts with Quartz 2D Extreme turned on. It is disabled by default in Tiger presumably because Apple could not get it working quite perfectly. I can't imagine this causing any kind of application crashes or loss of data however, but nevertheless run at your own risk.
     
  11. dirtymatt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #11
    Actually don't both Core Image and Q2DX both require a Shader 2.0 compatible video card. So while they don't depend on each other, they have the same requirements. I have it enabled on my machine (and have rebooted since then to make sure everything saw it). I'd say overall my machine does feel snappier, but maybe I'm just making that up.
     
  12. zakatov macrumors 6502a

    zakatov

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    South Florida
    #12
    Hold on, so Tiger is using Quartz Extreme by default - same as Panther?

    edit: to answer my own question: basically yes
     
  13. andrewfee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #13
    While I like the performance increases it gives in some situations, (scrolling in Safari is noticably faster for example) you can definitely see why it's disabled. The dock is noticably slower, and if an icon is bouncing, it slows things right down. (try scrolling in safari as something is bouncing)

    The same applies to progress bars being onscreen.

    I'm sure Apple will add it in a 10.4.x update when these issues have been fixed.
     
  14. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #14
    I'm not sure whether all GeForce FXes and all Radeon 9600s and higher have Pixel Shader 2.0--I just know the models of cards that are required. If these happen to correlate, that's fine.
     
  15. Daveman Deluxe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #15
    I've seen a couple of peculiarities when using Quartz 2D Extreme. Sometimes when switching to an application with multiple windows open, the windows will not be stacked properly along the z-axis for a couple of frames. i.e. the bottom window will appear on top briefly.

    Also, when using the Command-Tab application switcher, the switcher may not disappear immediately when I release the key combination--sometimes it will stop disappearing when it's partially translucent and then finish the job, sometimes it will remain opaque and then disappear with no transition to transparency.

    I have encountered nothing that caused data loss or application crashes.
     
  16. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #16
    Just come across this hack, and did a few tests with XBench. For this, I used only the video tests -- that is: Quartz, OpenGL and Interface.

    Powerbook 1.33/Rev.c FX5200.

    Sans hack:
    Total score/all three tests -- 155

    Hack enabled:
    Total score/all three tests -- 175

    Both Quartz and Interface tests were vastly quicker with 2D Extreme enabled. Jaw-droppingly so.

    The Batman Begins HD H.264 trailer now runs smoothly! :eek: :eek:
    Can't seem to replicate the issues andrewfee is talking about regarding the dock, either :)
     
  17. thecrunge macrumors member

    thecrunge

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Oxnard,CA
    #17
    Check This Out!

    I enabled Quartz 2D Extreme on my iBook 800 G3. It works great, everything
    feels a little bit faster! I included a pic so you guys can see.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Fredstar macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #18
    i decided to turn it off, while i did notice quite big improvements there must be a reason why Apple have it disabled...
    Although, just running the same HD H.264 videos in a smaller window only now gives me 15-17 fps compared to a solid 24fps with Q2d enabled and once again 1080p movies are running at 8-10 instead of on average 13-16 fps. Definately big results, but i am just going to wait till 10.4.1 and see if it enables for compatable gfx's.
     
  19. Androit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Houston
    #19

    How did you enable it, when I try it in Quartz Debug it says Quartz 2D Extreme not supported and the option is grayed out.
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    I think if you use the sudo defaults write method, then you can change the flag whether or not you have support. I don't know if this is somehow actually changing the way a non-supported machine works, or if it's psychological. ;)

    I guess, the fact that the iBook G3 doesn't support QE2D would explain why that poster doesn't see any negatives to running it, and so many others report that it's buggy. :D Hmmm...maybe I'll try turning it on, on my iBook G4, for giggles.

    EDIT: Executing the command did not have the effect of listing QE2D on my system profile. Do you have to reboot?
     
  21. Fredstar macrumors 6502a

    Fredstar

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Near London
    #21
    If you are referring to Fred as in me, i have a iMac G5 as below so it is supported.
    I just enabled and disabled. There is definately a increase of about 3-5 fps when playing back H.264 high def material - i was using the TobyMac as material.
     
  22. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #22
    Oops, sorry! I got your post and thecrunge's mixed up. The person with the G3 and QE2D enabled.... :eek:
     
  23. csubear macrumors 6502a

    csubear

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #23
    I enabled the Q2DE, and i found that my 720p videos went from 15-20 to 20-24fps on windowed playback. Really good for my little powerbook!
     
  24. thecrunge macrumors member

    thecrunge

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Oxnard,CA
    #24
    I've also enabled Quartz 2D Extreme on my QuickSilver and the difference is amazing. Playing halo with everything on high feels alot smoother. Also my xbench scores nearly doubled in the opengl, quartz, and user interface benchmarks! :cool:
     
  25. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #25
    I haven't noticed a big change on my PB 12" 1.33Ghz. CPU utilization remains a constant 19% when moving a Finder window whether Q2DE is enabled or not. I do like the promise of moving all elements, such as text characters, over to the GPU to free up cycles on the main cpu.
     

Share This Page