Enabling Remote Disc on not-Airs

Discussion in 'OS X' started by bstreiff, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #1
    In Terminal:
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser EnableODiskBrowsing -bool true
    defaults write com.apple.NetworkBrowser ODSSupported -bool true
    ... and reboot.

    I've gotten it to work on both a Mac mini and my Blackbook (screenshot of the latter below).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Or....you can just go into "Sharing" under system preferences and choose "DVD or CD sharing"
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #3
    I believe that only covers one part of the equation. This would allow you to actually use a shared disk...on other macs other than the MacBook Air.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Is there a way to find out if this command worked? I don't see any remote disks on my school network.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #5
    Yeah, the 'DVD/CD sharing' is just the server-side. The client is what is normally restricted to the Air, and that's what those preferences enable.

    DVD/CD sharing is off by default; I haven't seen any other random machines at my campus with it on. I have gotten it to work between machines I have, though.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    What do I install on my windows machine in order to use this?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #7
  8. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #8
    Lol! fenchurch, hotblack, zaphod....I see your a fan of the Hitchhikers Guide to the galaxy :D

    Your missing FordPrefect!
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #9
    I had a prefect once; it was a laptop I had long ago.

    Oh, and I don't actually have an iMac, Mac Pro, or XServe just lying around-- those three are Linux boxes and, since I wasn't too keen about them showing up with the BSOD icon, I made avahi send out the appropriate _device-info keys over Bonjour.

    Not that I would be terribly opposed to having an iMac, Mac Pro, and/or XServe just lying around, of course... :)
     
  10. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #10
    BTW, it appears to work without rebooting, I simply relaunched the Finder and it came right up.

    jW
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    compuguy1088

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Location:
    In the Sub-Basement of Solitude
    #11
    I wouldn't name your server hotblack....unless it is truly on death support :D.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #12
    It kinda is. It's an old IBM Netvista that is, well, black. It uses some sort of custom-form-factor power supply, however, and since I wasn't really keen on the idea of ponying up $110 for a new power supply, I instead took a SPX-style power supply and shortened the case to make it fit in the space where I would have the CD drive (were I the sort of person who used CD drives for more than OS installs.) One consequence of this is that the airflow is a bit different now, so the machine runs a little hotter. I'm not too sure how much hotter (no temperature sensors), though it's been working fine like this for the past year. I try not to do anything too CPU-intensive for long periods of time, just in case.

    So, well, it's hot and black. Seemed like a natural choice. ;D
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #13
    cool, works with just a restart.



    edit--much later-- I mean just a finder restart.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #14
    Aloha everyone,

    Has anyone successfully played a movie on the client using Remote Disc? I tried to do just that today - loaded a movie in my iMac to play on my MacBook Pro - but no joy. I was able to read from both a CD and a DVD, however, but have yet to attempt a write test.

    How far have any of you gotten thus far? Also, for those of you who have the MacBook Air, can you play a movie on the Air via Remote Disc on a 2nd Mac? I'm interested in finding the limits of Remote Disc.

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #15
    Anyone know how to get this going in 10.5.5? Since I upgraded, my remote disc doesn't work anymore... (on my not-air).
     
  16. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX, USA
    #16
    That's strange; it works fine for me in 10.5.5.

    Is it simply not showing up in Finder, or is it failing when you're actually trying to use it?
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #17
    It's just not showing up at all. It was working fine before, but now... no dice. Remote sharing is on on my min and MBP, but the not-air doesn't see anything anymore. :confused:
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #18
    Doesn't work for me either...

    on my non-Air.

    Running 10.5.5

    BP
     
  19. ViM
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #19
    i can see the remote disc but the problem is that i am left just with a "waiting for disc" screen. Is it just my slow wifi?
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #20
    I know this is an old thread, but I just wanted to say that I got a refurbished Nvidia Mac mini and it had remote disc enabled by default. It can see discs I put in my iMac and MacBook. I have no idea why this is since I have a SuperDrive in it already. Still cool if not very useful to me.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #21
    Hey guys,

    Been scouring the internet forever for this, just wanted to let you all know this still works.

    Make sure the "ODS" line in terminal is a capital O and not a zero.

    Cheers!
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #22
    How do i get rid of it

    how do i get rid of the remote disk
    it stays on my mac even though dvd/cd sharing is turned off:confused:
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    skottichan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #23
    I also hate to resurrect a dead thread, but I'd like to know this too. I had an iMac that had a dead optical drive, enabled this to serve as a stopgap measure, and when I did a Mac-to-Mac transfer with my new computer, it came along for the ride. I tried swapping 'false' for 'true' and entering the two Terminal commands to no avail. And strangely enough, I have the little arrow in the upper right corner on the iMac but not on my MacBookPro, when it has the Terminal commands inputted to enable sharing. I've also cycled sharing on and off and rebooted in between on both machines, and I still have it only on the iMac and not on the MacBookPro.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #24
    You might want to try deleting the keys entirely.

    Code:
    defaults delete [I]Preference.Name PreferenceKey[/I]
     
  25. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #25
    I'd like to report that as of 10.6.7, ODSSupported is unnecessary – just enabling EnableODiskBrowsing is enough.

    And here's a tip on how to get rid of "Remote Disc" in the sidebar:
    1. open com.apple.sidebarlists.plist in Property List Editor (comes with Xcode) or your favourite plist editor
    2. expand systemitems and VolumesList nodes
    3. find the node that corresponds to Remote Disc (typically the last one)
    4. add a string item "Visibility" = "NeverVisible"
    5. save and log out.

    After following these steps you can still access Remote Disc by going to Computer (⇧⌘C) and selecting "Remote Disc".
     

Share This Page