enabling root user

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by G5orbust, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #1
    i believe it is: sudo passwrd root

    type in the password u want and ur done.


    am i right?
     
  2. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    The GUI way to do it is

    applications -> utilities -> NetInfo Manager

    security menu
    Enable root user
    change root password
     
  3. G5orbust thread starter macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #3
    yeah my frined told me the terminal way


    i was close (is passwd not passwrd)
     
  4. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #4
    without causing the argument i did last time...a caveat.

    be careful with root.
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #5
    you could check out osxfaq.com if you're unsure about unix stuff. they've got heaps of terminal stuff there.
     
  6. posterboy81 macrumors newbie

    posterboy81

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Burnaby, B.C., Canada
    #6
    root

    Instead of enabling the root user you can enable root for yourself for specific functions in the terminal by typing "sudo" before whatever command. If you have a bunch of stuff you want to do then type "sudo -s", it will ask you for your password and then you will be enabled as root.

    Alternately, you could download Psuedo (I don't have a link handy, search versiontracker.com) which will enable any app as root in the GUI, and its freeware!

    I only recommend this because root can be very very dangerous.

    --PB
     
  7. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Re: root

    Don't you still need to set the root password before you can su to root? I thought you did. I would highly recommend that one not log in as root. There is no need to. If you can't do as above, and su to root in a terminal window and do what you want to do, then you probably should not be doing it in the first place.
     
  8. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #8
    Re: Re: root

    Yes, you still need to set a password before using sudo or logging in as root...even on traditional UNIX machines.

    Thankfully, Apple is eliminating the real needs for using root level access by cleaning up the system.

    Btw, there's also a way to enable the root account from the installation CD-ROM. I've forgotten the menu option in the installer, but it should still be there in 10.2.
     

Share This Page