enclosure

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by laidbackliam, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
  2. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #2
    Ignore this, thought the link I posted supported Sata but apparently it doesn't..my bad :(
     
  3. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #3
    That doesn't support a SATA drive, from what I could tell. The OP's original post included a link to a SATA HD, and thus that enclosure wouldn't work.

    To the OP: I've been doing the same search. What I've found is that the cheap FW/USB SATA enclosures have bad reviews, and the others are too expensive for me to justify. I've given up on the FW and that opened a lot more doors, but that's just me.
     
  4. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
  5. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
    Thanks..I noticed that about 2 seconds after posting my first reply. :D
     
  6. milozauckerman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #6
    I got a USB 2.0 SATA enclosure from CompUSA (house brand) for about $10 more than the IDE enclosures.
     
  7. laidbackliam thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #7
    i think i may just go for a usb2.0 enclosure. hopefully i'll be able to boot up with it, i know you can use certain drives to do it with usb, but i was really hoping to just get a cheap usb/firewire enclosure. best of both worlds, you know.
     
  8. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #8
    As far as I know, the new intels can boot from USB. The ppc macs can only boot from FW. It will be slower, but you should be good.
     

Share This Page