Encoding Star Trek Voyager (handbrake)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Volante, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    #1
    I'm having trouble encoding Star Trek: Voyager. Why? As I understand it the CG (ships etc) have a different frame rate than the live action. When I play it, the CG sections "skips". I am using Apple TV default in handbrake with deinterlancing. Fps same as source (25). Has anyone encountered and solved this problem?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,117
    #2
    Try turning on vfr (variable frame rate) in the picture settings window provided you are using 0.9.2.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    themanfromvlad

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Montreal
    #3
    I think the real issue here is that you want to encode one of the worst-written serial shows in history. :)
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    #4
    i've ripped the last 3 seasons (stinkin' columbia house likes to send things in reverse order so you have to keep giving them money!) with the ipod hi-res setting and i havent noticed any problems.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    #5
    That might be, but the doctor is awesome. =)
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    The same problem occurs with Star Trek Deep Space 9. Like Dynaflash said, turn on VFR and it'll solve the problem.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    themanfromvlad

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    Yes, but the writing on DS9 was so much better!
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    #8
    totally different shows. both good in my opinion, but way different.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    PcBgone

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    #9
    Im actually burning this series to my hard drive as we speak. I havent had any problems, however Im just burning the episodes themselves. Ive got TOS and TNG burned, Im working on STV, as well as DS9, and I will think about enterprise...would have to buy that series though...
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    #10
    you should get the animated series as well. it is pretty fun. i wish i had ds9 dvds and the first 4 seasons of voyager so i could have everything in itunes!
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    #11
    I am having a similar issue with ST:TNG, some sections seem to have faster movement than others. Would the VFR work for this as well?

    PcBgone, you said that you have already ripped ST:TNG and TOS, what settings did you use? I have ripped all with MTR just need to set a queue in HB to encode them all (I had finished season 1 and 2 of TNG before I realized the issue with the AppleTV preset and this series and have been trying to fix it).
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    #12
    I have now tried various settings of bitrate (25 (source), 23.9, 29) together with VFR, but it causes audio to go out of sync (ac3 passthrough).
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,117
    #13
    Then you could try a dev snapshot of HB, its available via the HB forums in an announcement at the top of every forum. There are some fixes to vfr and ac3 av sync that might help.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #14
    I've been using the Dev snapshot for DS9 and it's been working great for me.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    PcBgone

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    #15

    I simply used the AppleTv preset, and let it go. No other settings were changed, havent noticed any problems with them, with the exception of a few episodes I had to reburn from TOS, it came up as an unreadable unix file, but reburning it did fixed.

    I will admit I didnt go back and watch through them all. Only the first few that I ripped..maybe I should go back and check the others.
     

Share This Page