Enter SIM PIN without restarting?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ikcikc, Mar 14, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #1
    I have my SIM PIN set - and when I switch on the phone - I get the screen that gives me 3 attempts to enter the PIN code to unlock my phone. All well and good... However - if I happen to switch on the phone and get distracted - and it goes into "sleep mode" - when I then slide the slider I no longer have the option to enter a PIN code available - I simply have "Locked SIM" in the top left corner. I can shut down the phone and start again - but its all a little bit annoying to have to do this once one has missed the short window of opportunity to enter the PIN (I have the phone set to sleep after 1 minute)...

    Is there any menu option or any way to get to the PIN entry screen without restarting the phone? I would have thought that trying to make a call would do this - but no...

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. tjk
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #2
    up. same problem((
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #3
    I have the same prob too. However by making a call it used to give u the option this was with firmware 1.1.1. This doesn't work anymore so I guess its a bug?
     
  4. tjk
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #4
    yep, tried many things. calling, writing sms, changing pin even... nothing brings the menu back in 1.1.4
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #5
    Same problem. I thought that turning Airplane mode on and off would do it, but it doesn't work.

    The only thing I have had work is popping the sim out and putting it back, or restarting.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #6
    I just updated to 6.1 in my iPhone 5 and wasn't even prompted to enter my PIN. I looked around in the settings and tried to make a phone call but still no PIN prompt. I guess you still have to restart you iPhone to unlock your SIM.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    Settings - Phone - SIM-PIN

    I had the other way around. Since the last update i haven't been promted to enter my SIM Pin, not even after a reboot, and have been able to make calls anyway. So my SIM Pin was useless before, even tried to deactivate and reactivate with no effect.

    After the 6.1 update however, I was promted to enter the pin again, so I thought it was a bug they had fixed with 6.1.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    #8
    I tried that but it didn't work; I only got the two grayed out options and no prompt.

    However, I tried it now after restarting and it does work. I guess there was a bug right after upgrading which is why I wasn't prompted at the start or in the settings.
     

Share This Page