Entire program backup (on CD-R) possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by coolbreeze, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. coolbreeze macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #1
    OK folks. I have a Powerbook in the mail to me, and have used Windows my whole life so I need help.

    Is there a way to back up an entire program on a CD-R, and then re-install it later. Before you throw the piracy flag, I would be doing this because I bought Jag and need to install it (over 10.1.5), and don't want to lose any programs in the process (photoshop, etc). You may wonder why I don't have the original discs to the programs. Well, the seller included a lot of software on the powerbook, most of which have their original discs. I'm referring to those that don't.

    I am asking this because I don't want to lose the applications I don't have the discs for (when I do a fresh install of Jaguar). After the fresh install, I want to re-insert the disc with the program image on it and re-install.

    Is this possible?
     
  2. kenkooler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Mexico City
    #2
    Use Toast Titanium's copy or save as disc image feature.
    www.roxio.com
     
  3. coolbreeze thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #3
    Thanks for the info. I'll have to pick up a copy. Now for an add-on question...Where is the ".exe" or the file I will need to copy using Toast? Coming from the Windows world, I am not sure where that is. I've heard that on Mac OS it is literally just a single file in a folder...i.e if you delete the photoshop file, photoshop is entirely gone, and if you copy that file to a disc, you've backed up the entire photoshop. That is the file I am looking for.

    BTW, hope you weren't affected by the earthquake! From what I saw on the news, it was a bad one.
     
  4. kenkooler macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Mexico City
    #4
    There are no visible extensions like ".exe" on Macs, although there is .app on native applications (but its hidden) MacOS X is certainly no single file so just use the CD copy function, if you copy an already installed application like photoshop copy its directory, and application support folders in /Library/ and /Users/NameOfYourUser/. Also you may be able to use the included Disk Copy application in /Applications/Utilities/, just drag the Cd over its icon.

    Actually, older MacOS versions were included in a single directory, /System Folder/ but because of the Unix based MacOS X we have it splitted in several ones.

    Thanks, the earthquake wasn't really that bad since we have one with of that strenght every few years, actually 5 in the 17 years I have lived, that's why our tallest building is 260 meters high. :)

    edit: Also, if you have Unix applications like Maya, try backing up /var/ as well
     
  5. ezkimo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    #5
    If the icon that you double click to open the application is in a folder of its own (like the photoshop icon is automatically put in a photoshop folder when it is installed) copy the whole folder and it should be fine. If the icon that you double click is alone (for instance most of the applications in the applications folder) just copy that and it should be fine.

    -Zach
     

Share This Page