Entourage intermitant mail problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by grifftm, Jun 23, 2006.

1. grifftm macrumors newbie

Hello. I am quite new to using a Mac/OSX and have recently bought Mac Office 2004 - so please bear with me :)

I'm having problems with some email not being received in my inbox, and some email that I send out not being received, this appears to be an intermitant problem. I am setting up as a new business and have been missing important emails from clients, so really need to resolve this quickly.

I believe I have narrowed the problem down to Entourage 2004 - I have sent several tests from the Mail app and all seems to work fine. I did several tests to see how quickly an email arrived from Mail v Entourage. Mail was almost instant every time, whereas Entourage varied from not arriving at all, or several hours, or half an hour, it was never quick. I have checked with my ISP too and they said all is okay their end.

I have checked all my account settings in Entourage and they look correct. Is this a common problem with Entourage mail? I would like to continue using Entourage if I can as the project centre is great for viewing my design projects. If anyone can help I would be very grateful.

Thanks

2. UKnjb macrumors 6502a

UKnjb

Hello and welcome to MR :)
    This may not be any help, but I use Entourage from Office 2004 and haven't ever noticed the problem that you describe. :confused: Various other people have described a fault where the e-mail database can disappear - but can be recovered.
    You write that you can send/receive mails in your other Mail apps and you are sure your Entourage settings are OK.
    Have you tried deleting your Entourage preference file (library>Preferences>com.microsoft.Entourage.plist) and re-starting Entourage? Also repairing permissions (Utilities>Disk Utility>Disk Repair) or fsck might also be well worth doing.