Epson 2200 or wait????

Discussion in 'Community' started by Plutonique9, Sep 19, 2004.

1. Plutonique9 macrumors newbie

Plutonique9

Hey,

I'm a photography student looking to buy a professional inkjet & have been looking at the Epson 2200 for a while. My main points in buying the Epson is;

•Archival Pigmented Inks
    •Wide-Format printing (up to 13" x 44")
    •Ability to print on a wide variety of papers and other mediums

Now, the only reason I haven't gone ahead yet is that epson released the R800 earlier this year which improves on Epson's 7-color Ultrachrome system. The R800 uses 8 colors (added red & blue for increased Gamut) + a gloss optimizer for printing on gloss photo papers.

Now, the only complaints I've heard about the 2200 is it's limited Gamut (in comparison to the Canons) and the time to print. Now, I don't really care about time as long as the quality is there, but Gamut is important & it seems the R800 fills thoses gaps.

The R800 is, however, only an A4 printer..... Which is no good for me. Anyone think that it's worth waiting a bit to see if epson releases the R800 in a wide-format printer (like the 2200)?

Thanks

Ryan

2. evoluzione macrumors 68020

evoluzione

down the road, that's where i'll always be
    hmmm, interesting printer, the R800. i'm very curious to see how that thing prints.

to answer your question though, don't count on a larger format version of that. i would say however, expect a replacement to the 2200, using 8 inks, not with a R and B, but the usual CcMmY LightBlack PhotoBlack and MatteBlack. Much the same as their new Pro4000. This uses the 7colours of the 7600/9600 but has the alternative PhotoBlack so you don't have to purge the lines to swap between that and the Matte.

the 2200 is a great printer, but it's been out a while. i know a few photographers that have used one, they're very popular, and the results are good.