Epson Print CD

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ghall, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    I'm having some issues with Epson Print CD. I am using it with an Intel MacBook Pro, and I have installed the latest drivers for my printer (Epson Stylus Color R220). There is one problem: when I try to print using Print CD, it says there isn't enough memory and that I should allocate more memory to the program (which, I don't think you can do in OS X). It's a PowerPC app, and I can't find a download for a Universal Binary.
     
  2. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
  3. SpankyPenzaanz macrumors 6502a

    SpankyPenzaanz

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #4
    what does the software have that you absolutely need?
     
  4. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    Well, all it does is lets you use the CD/DVD printing tray, and design CD/DVD labels, so, that's what I absolutely need.
     
  5. numediaman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago (by way of SF)
    #6
    This might help you: http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=754668

    It appears that Epson does not provide an easy way to get this software. It comes, obviously, with the purchase of their printers, but not as a download.

    As for your "memory" error message: I've never encountered this before with this program. I would think that Print CD doesn't need much memory, but you might want to check your Activity Monitor to see what it says. (I tested this myself and the program only used around 20 megs of RAM even after a large photo was imported in.)

    How are you using the program? Are you building labels within it, or importing backgrounds?

    The best way to use the program, it seems to me, is to build your label using Photoshop or a similar program, then importing the image in as a "background". No need to go above 300dpi since the program does not print super high definition anyway. But having said that, I have routinely imported in 600 dpi images with no problem.
     
  6. twdawson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
    #7
    Hi all

    Its a problem with the "easy print module" that comes on the driver disk when you get the printer.
    I had this exact same problem and a re install of the print module fixed it.
     
  7. minnesotamacman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    #8
    I just downloaded the drivers from Epson and have never had an issue using my Mac Pro with the Epson R220
     
  8. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #9
    How do you reinstall the easy print module?

    EDIT: Nevermind, I got it.
     
  9. Timeline macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    #10

    If you loose the Ep CD print software just call epson. They will send it out for 11 bucks.


    Contact Support

    E-mail


    If you are unable to find an answer on our web site, you can e-mail your question to Epson Technical Support. We will respond via e-mail within 1 business day.

    Technical Support


    United States
    Phone Number:
    (562)276-7282
    Hours:
    Mon.- Fri. 6AM-8PM (PT)
    Canada
    Phone Number:
    (905)709-2567
    Hours:
    Mon.- Fri. 6AM-6PM (PT)
     

Share This Page