Erase All Content and Settings

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by pugnut, Jun 19, 2013.

  1. pugnut, Jun 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013

    pugnut
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone done this while on ios7? If so what was the result? What did it restore to?

    Thanks
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    It completely wipes your phone clean. When I did it, it restored to the latest version of iOS (speaking of iOS 6 when I had my 4s).
     
  3. pugnut
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #3

    Thanks- assuming that you were on ios 7 then it reverted back to 6.1.3
     
  4. BasicGreatGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    My previous comment was not in regards to iOS 7. I was referring to a time last year, when I wiped my 4s clean.

    Edited to add: I am not aware of anyone using that method to downgrade from iOS 7. If that is what you are thinking about, proceed with caution.
     
  5. pugnut
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #5
    Thanks- I updated the question to clarify that I was looking for results when on ios 7.
     
  6. BasicGreatGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    Is your nicname in regards to Pug dogs? One of my favorite breeds.
     
  7. batting1000
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    It just wipes the device clean just like a restore.
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    He is asking if anyone has used that method to downgrade from iOS 7. And if so, what were the results.
     
  9. Sonnestah
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
  10. batting1000
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    It doesn't downgrade anything. It just wipes the phone.
     
  11. YeahBuddy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    I did a clean reinstall on iOS 7 today. When I went to restore to iOS 6, iTunes wouldn't let me because Find My iPhone was turned on. When I went to turn off Find My iPhone I had to enter in my Apple ID. This probably has to do with the new Activation Lock feature and I was happy to see it.

    But other than that, restoring to iOS 6 and reinstalling iOS 7 was a snap.
     
  12. Gjwilly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    It restores to iOS7.
    It's just like a brand new phone where you have to activate and setup your iTunes account.
    If your UDID is not registered for beta testing you won't get past the activation and you'll have to revert to iOS6 via DFU mode.
     
  13. Brendada, Sep 20, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2014

    Brendada
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    #13
    +Do a DFU recovery:+

    +1. Open iTunes.+
    +2. Connect the iPhone+
    +3 Press both the home and sleep/wake buttons until the Apple icon appears (ignore the red slider if it shows).+
    +4. Continue pressing the home button alone until iTunes sees your phone in recovery mode.+
    +5. Follow the prompts to restore the iPhone.+

    This is step by step guide on how to erase data from iPhone before selling.
     
  14. gutierezz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    #14
    It will be back to factory state when you got a new device. All data are deleted and only built-in apps are there.
     

Share This Page