erasing a person from a photo

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by danaleigh, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. danaleigh macrumors newbie

    danaleigh

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #1
    greetings,

    i want to use iPhoto to take the person out of a scenic picture. the photo was taken with a canon g2 and i hope to print it as a 16x20.

    thanks! dana
     
  2. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #2
    i dont think u can in iPhoto. Photoshop will do it. Try downloading the demo and use the 'clone' tool.
     
  3. Swarmlord macrumors 6502a

    Swarmlord

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #3
    Well, your success is going to have a lot to do with what the background is. The clone tool is great if you are removing someone standing in front of a painted wall or a lot of foliage.
     
  4. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #4
    It's difficult to remove something like a person from a photo and make it look good, especially if you're going to print it as a 16x20.
     
  5. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Depending on the pic, you may just be able to crop it.

    **Nevermind, saw it is a scenic pic, so I am pretty sure you will not want to crop.**
     
  6. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    If you're good at it, it shouldn't matter too much ;) :D
     
  7. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #7
    The impossible just takes a little more time.
     
  8. Case-sensitive macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    #8
    If it's the people rather than their surroundings you are interested in it might be easier (again in photoshop not iphoto) to cut the figures out and paste them into a new scene.
     
  9. spicyapple macrumors 68000

    spicyapple

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #9
    Can you replace the head, if removing the whole body is too difficult?
     
  10. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #10
    Wouldn't that be harder to get that looking good?
     
  11. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #11
    Decapitated people don't photograph well.


    Just clone using PS. Can you do it in Elements as well?
     
  12. louiek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Knutters Knoll, Melbourne
    #12
    You could use Gimp. It allows you to put one image on top of another and "erase to background", so when you erase something from the top layer you see what is on the bottom layer. So I imagine if you slightly offset the two images, and if the background is fairly regular, you could just wipe the person away.
     
  13. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #13
    Now that sounds cool. :)
     
  14. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #14
    I made this a while back, and yes that sky is the original.

    When you clone, remember to do it on a seperate layer so that you can erase mistakes and redo areas.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. danaleigh thread starter macrumors newbie

    danaleigh

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #15
    the person i need cut

    basically, i want to print and frame this photo three times and hang the framed prints side by side (one with the person and two without). i have no experience with photoshop or other image software, however, so if producing seamless results requires any amount of skill, perhaps i should consider shifting my plans for now. (the attached file is smaller than the one i'd use.)
     
  16. danaleigh thread starter macrumors newbie

    danaleigh

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    #16
    file

    file attached
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Mydriasis macrumors 6502

    Mydriasis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    #17
    thats easy, you can do it, give it a try, I sure you'll have fun :)
     

    Attached Files:

  18. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #18
    Thats actually a really easy one, you should have no problems using the clone tool with that. This took me less than 2 mins!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #19
    Honestly, can you just teach us how to do that?

    EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. I actually have trouble with things like creating 2 layers and making use of them rather than what this involved. :eek:
     
  20. failsafe1 macrumors 6502a

    failsafe1

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #20
  21. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #21
    this is a hands on technique, could you honestly get a program/filter to do what you need without messing up?

    i doubt it.
     
  22. failsafe1 macrumors 6502a

    failsafe1

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #22
    Good question. I don't have any first hand experience with the Akvis. Simply pointing out a potentially easier technique for people who may want an alternative.
     
  23. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #23
    A gun works well too. :D

    With the image danaleigh posted you could use the 'spot heal' tool in PS CS2 and it will get rid of it within seconds.

    And yes it was quite an easy one to do.
     
  24. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #25
    Hey Mydriasis, can you maybe send me the original of that photo (if it's higher-res than the one you uploaded)? I'd like to take a crack at that. Specifically, I wonder if the perspective clone tool in CS2 has a "mirror line" mode. If not... it should.
     

Share This Page