erasing volume/disk help please

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jay1111, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. jay1111 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #1
    hi,
    i've been having some real big problems with my 17"powerbook, i've had the folder with the "?" inside flashing away and the startup disk wont show my system folder, so i thought i'd reinstall tiger and see if that would help, but its not showing me a destonation volume to install the tiger software?!

    I've been told a way around this problem would be to erase the volume (my old HD) and start again, but as i've never done this before i'm a bit scared of what happends!

    Do i just press the erase button and then restart with the tiger dvd holding the "c" button???

    i would love any help on this!

    thank you

    jay :(

    ps... i'm not worried about losing any info on the powerbook as i still have software disk's and all work is backed up!
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Start from the Tiger CD and choose Erase and Install option. If it's not showing an install disk then it's possible you drive is broken.
     
  3. jay1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #3
    hi robbieduncan,
    thanks for the reply, the problem i'm having is that when i start from the tiger dvd it doesnt show my HD when it says select volume to install tiger software, so i dont even get to the part were it asks if i want to erase and install. When i open disk utilities it does show my HD, so if i was to erase the volume(HD) using disk utilites do you think it would let me install tiger again?

    thanks again,
    jay
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    It might do, or it might just leave you with a blank HD and no OS! You might want to wait for more advice (or go to an Apple Store and talk to a Genius).
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5

    I'm pretty confident that you could do it this way. Format it as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and then try to Erase/Reinstall again. :)
     
  6. jay1111 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    #6
    thanks for all the help on this, i'll let you know how i get on!

    jay
     

Share This Page