Erm, how do I open the CD/DVD drive?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Smileyguy, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    #1
    Am getting my 1.8Ghz g5 ready for sale. My apple keyboard is bust, so I've just attached a PC one I have handy. The only problem is, without the eject button on the keyboard, how do I get the disc drive open? There's no disc in it that I can eject by dragging to the trash.

    Surely there is a simple way? :rolleyes:
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #2
    I'm sure I remember reading that it was F12? Give that a shot. :)
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Carl Spackler

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Outer Space
    #3
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    #4
    f12 not working. Any way I can assign functions to the f keys?

    This is rather hilarious. :confused:
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Have Toast?

    If you have Toast, you can use it to open drive bays by hitting the eject icon in the lower right hand . Hope it works. (Edit) I just checked it to make sure & it worked. (Edit) I just checked this method & it works.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #6
    Is there not some pin hole you can put a paperclip in to manually open the CD drive?

    EDIT: Actually if you were to use the Toast idea posted above, Burn might give the same option if you haven't got Toast seeing as Burn is free.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    #7
    Toast idea worked, thanks guys! :D
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    mperkins37

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    Itunes Has eject button also

    As I suspected, ITunes has an eject button in the lower right also, just hit it and you are good to go..
     
  9. macrumors 68040

    trainguy77

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    You can also add the eject menu in the top right menu bar.
     

Share This Page