error in xcode when trying to run app on iphone

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by chenks, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    i'm getting the following error when i try and run the created app on an iphone.

    [​IMG]

    any ideas why?
    i've imported all the relevant certs etc (as per the tutorial videos on developer.apple.com/iphone).
     
  2. sneha macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    India
    #2
    This problem is there when the certificate is not installed properly.Have you properly gone through the process??

    From which pc did you sent the CSR request ??
     
  3. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    yes, as stated originally, i went thru all the appropriate certificate creation and importing as per the instructions on developer.apple.com (following the video tutorials).

    the xcode developement mac is the same mac that the certificates were created and imported on.
     
  4. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #4
    What does your Keychain Access app say you have for your developer certificate? (A screenshot of that and your code signing settings would, if you're willing, help).
     
  5. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    tell me how to get this info and i will.
     
  6. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    Um, if you're not sure how to get this info, then I'm not sure you've followed the steps that Apple requires. If you had, I would think it would be fairly obvious how to get it. :confused:
     
  7. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    well i have followed the steps that apple requires (and used the tutorial videos to do it).

    i'm just not overly familiair with they keychain app itself.
     
  8. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #8
    Have you followed all the steps outlined in the Program Portal? (I don't know if the videos cover all this; I've never watched them.)

    Open up Keychain Access and view the My Certificates category. Open your iPhone Developer cert.
     
  9. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    again, yes

    in login / my certificates there is nothing
    in login / certificates there is the "iphone developer: myname" certificate
     
  10. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #10
    And if you open it up, it has a private key?
     
  11. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    not seeing anything in there about a private key. can see public key info.

    in login/keys i have both a public and private key listed
     
  12. firewood macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #12
    Watch the video and/or read the docs again. You need to put 2 different certs in your keychain. Yours and WWDC's.
     
  13. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  14. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #14
    So, you have no private key associated with your iPhone Developer certificate. I would just go ahead and generate a new CSR.
     
  15. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    should the existing private key (created as per the dev instructions) not be associated with it?

    i assume this is done via "request a certificate from a certificate authority"?
     
  16. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #16
    It should. For some reason, it isn't. And I believe that's the problem.

    Correct.
     
  17. chenks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    ok sorted.

    i revoked the certificate in developer tools and re-uploaded a new one, and then downloaded that and imported into keychain.

    now resolved.
     

Share This Page