Errorsafe

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by Reach, Oct 20, 2006.

  1. Reach macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Why on earth would you let Errorsafe advertise on your site?! With those popups trying to fool everyone to think they are offering something everything should have, with "Accept" as the default button..
    Man, that's pretty stupid for a mac-site imo..
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    MacRumors does not select which ads show up on the site. However, they can block ads that are intrusive, which it sounds like this one is. If you can grab a screenshot of it, post it here and the admins will decide whether it's worth blocking it. But somebody has to pay the bills around here...
     
  3. Reach thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    [​IMG]
    This dialog comes up, it accompanies the banner they have..
    I know ads pays for content, but there is a limit to what I accept. :)
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Absolutely. An ad that generates a pop-up dialog box would definitely get the axe by the admins. They may be able to track it down based on the pop-up screenshot, but if you see their banner ad, please post it here as well to help them in identifying which ad it is and communicating that information to the ad vendor.
     
  5. TeppefallGuy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    #5
    I also get this garbage :mad:

    It says in my native language "Please select open or run when you are asked to start the install... This file.. is 100% virus, adware and spyware free".

    :mad: :mad:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #6
    sorry guys...

    hard to track this one down. I think I know which ad network it's from... so I'm going to exclude them and see if the problem persists.

    let me know if you notice it after a few hours after I post this message.

    arn
     
  7. TeppefallGuy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    #7
    Even Google Adsense has freakshow ads these days. I had to ban several domains just to make my site appear normal.

    Crazy stuff.
     
  8. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #8
    I've had the occasional oddball ad through adsense, but nothing too disturbing.

    * Runs off to knock on wood *
     

Share This Page