Ethernet Network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by acearchie, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #1
    I am trying to set up a network between me and a friend at school to swith files.

    I am using a Powerbook G4 and he a brand new macbook! I have tried finder>go>connect to server>browse>*********'s computer I enter the password and I get connection failed. It also takes along time for the laptop to connect after I select connecrt from the network preferences. I get the spinning wheel for atleast a few minutes.

    Please Help! Thanks

    P.s I am using an ethernet connected from the powerbook to the macbook and am adminstering through the powerbook! (as that has all the fies and documents to exchange)

    P.s.s Has anyone got any better ways of transfering the docs/files. It is a large thing not a few kb, around 40gb

    Thanks!
     
  2. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Do you have an external HD? You could put the files onto that and then transfer it over to the other computer.
     
  3. 2tallyAwesome macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #3
    Do you have a usb or firewire cable?

    Just shut down your powerbook and start it in target disk mode (hold down t at start up) and connect it to the macbook. The drive will mount to his desktop.

    Easiest way to transfer files.
     
  4. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #4
    Sounds great I will try it out! Thanks!!!

    Is there any reason why the ethernet network doesnt work or is it just my computer being annoying!!!!
     
  5. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #5
    Ethernet network

    I have tried to connect to the other Mac from my powerbook by finder>go>connect to server>selecting his macbook and clicking coneect but it just times out!

    Is it possible to connect to macs via ethernet???

    Thanks
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Yes easily, but you have to setup the networking stack first! Assign the machines different IP addresses in the same subnet and you'll be fine.
     
  7. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #7
    Ah thanks!!! Sadly that is a little complicated for my not so good knowledge!

    Do you know of a website or another tutorial possibly with pictures???

    Thanks!
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I'm not on a Mac to post pictures but it's easy. Open System Preferences->Network. Choose the Ethernet port and click the tabs till you get one with IP address and Subnet on it.

    Set one to 192.168.0.1 (ip) and 255.255.255.0 (subnet). Set the other to 192.168.0.2 and 255.255.255.0. You may also need to set the default router on each machine to the IP address of the other machine.
     
  9. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
  10. acearchie thread starter macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #11
    My stupid mac is still playing up!!! I want intel! :(
     

Share This Page