Ever hosted an exchange student?

Discussion in 'Community' started by mlw1235, Oct 12, 2004.

1. mlw1235 macrumors 6502

I am.....Joaquin is from Junin, Argentina. He's sooo cool!! :) :)

Anyone done this before?? Any cool experiences or stories? Anything to look out for?

2. themadchemist macrumors 68030

themadchemist

No, but be cognizant that both you and he will probably do things that seem odd or inappropriate in the other's culture. Think of it less for its awkward moments than for its opportunities to learn something new. However, that you jumped into this process means that you know a heck of a lot more about it than me anyway.

3. ToastCabbit macrumors member

I'm an exchange student in Japan as I type this. Having tons of fun! Seeing the kindness and generosity of the host families here in Yamaguchi City has made me want to host an exchange student of my own in later years. Enjoy the experience and if any MacRumor forums members are students themselves considering studying abroad, take the plunge and go learn! :D

4. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

That's very cool. :) I have friends I met recently who have done the same thing from Japan, flying over to Australia a few years ago to do an exchange. They loved it, and now they're back here doing Uni!!

How does it work? Do they pay you just enough for you to feed and house them (so that it doesn't cost you money to host him/her), or does your child go to Argentina as part of the exchange?

5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

I used to work with a college hosting Japanese exchange students as an introduction. There are many, many differences between the U.S.A. and Japan, so I was busy explaining things to avoid embarrassing or contentious situations.

I think anyone will find that their language skills are only adequate and that there will be a lot of gesturing between family and student in order to make sense of it all. Romance languages and their words having gender provide some interesting moments. :D