Everything is Doubling Clicking - Help!

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by MrMacMan, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #1
    Okay, I have a problem..


    And yes I have restarted...

    Every time I click something once it 'double clicks'

    Like to move the top of safari, instead of moving it, it mimizes as it would when double clicked.

    Its really pissing me off... I have no idea how it starts or why...

    Please help... :(

    --MrMacMan
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    what kind of mouse

    Tell us more about your situation. Is it the mouse that comes with Power Macs, or is it a 3rd party mouse. Or is it a lap top, give us something to go on other than mouse double clicking.

    Now there are not single click means double click option that I can see. So if it is a 3rd party mouse, check the settings, and if it is a normal Mac mouse, might want to use another to see if it acturally the mouse that is the problem.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    I was having that problem until, by coincidence, I installed the security update and restarted.
     
  4. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    My Mouse is third party but I've never needed to install any drivers or anything.

    Its Optical by macally the 'ioptinet'...

    And this is getting really annoying.
     
  5. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #5
    I installed the security update...

    and restarted...

    Nada...:(
     
  6. bennetsaysargh macrumors 68020

    bennetsaysargh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    try repairing permissions. it's worked with me when i couldn't move my mouse. also check the mouse and keyboard preferences to see if anything's in there.
     
  7. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #7
    Try unplugging your mouse and waiting a bit and re-plugging it in. Sometimes you have to do this a few times to get the system to reset whatever it resets.
     
  8. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #8
    I do that daily, nothing has come up.

    Mouse and keyboards show normal settings...

    MacBandit -- will do...
     
  9. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    Yup still nothing, I've done the MacBandit thingy like 6+ times over...

    Anyone?

    Any tips?

    :(
     
  10. coolbreeze macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #10
    My Logitech optical mouse does this all the time with my iBook 900 running 10.3.2.

    It seems to "lock up" and selects everything on the screen as I move it up and down. It often makes the entire computer freeze.

    The solution is to unplug it and use the touchpad for a few minutes. After that, I plug it in and it works great.
     
  11. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #11
    Have you tried a different mouse to see if its a hardware problem? Have you tried plugging into another USB port? Are you using a hub?

    Try to eliminate hardware as the cause. If the problem persists, perhaps you need a driver after the security update.
     
  12. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #12
    Have you used a program like Cocktail, OnyX, or Xupport to delete your system caches?
     
  13. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #13
    Yea.

    My mouse is just alternating from double and non-double clicking...

    Its weird... but as long as it says single clicking I am good...

    I used another mouse one time and it still had the problem...

    My mouse setup is
    Mouse --> Keyboard ---> Extention cord --> iMac

    My other devices use a hub, but not for the keyboard port.
     
  14. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #14
    Have you tried logging in from using another user account? Does it double click at the user login screen?
     
  15. MacBandit macrumors 604

    MacBandit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Location:
    Springfield, OR (Home of the Simpsons)
    #15
    His post just prior to mine says he has tried another mouse.
     
  16. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #16
    I have had problems like that before, my option or control key gets stuck down sometimes. I guess I'm too messy so my KB sticks, try unplugging your KB.
     
  17. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #17
    Yes when it did double click everything and every account double clicked.


    But apparently the problem has gone away for now... huuhh... :confused:

    Well then... Lets hope it doesn't come back... :p

    --MrMacMan
     

Share This Page