EVGA announces a GTX 680 Mac Edition

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #2
    this should be great news...

    It seems like something is brewing for the Mac Pro. With all of these graphic card "announcements" it should at least have a PCIe board that is accessible, or else these manufacturers are just trying to tap into a market that was under-serviced previously for upgrading existing machines.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #3
    Wow, either a new Mac Pro is right around the corner or these GPU manufactures finally realize how hungry Mac Pro users are for up-to-date and powerfull GPU's, and that there's money to be made in the Mac market.

    Either way its great news.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    Spec PDF says Mac Pro early 2008 or later / MacPro3,1 or later with PCI Express 2.0, and 10.8.3 or later. Supports Boot Camp, so would assume EFI allows boot screens.

    Maybe they were all just waiting for 10.8.3 to come out? Either way, it's interesting. MSRP $600.

    Newegg has them on pre-order with a 4/8/2013 release date (just so happens to be the first real day of NAB "showroom" activity):
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130912
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #5
    This is retaliation to the AMD card. This is better news though, the gtx680 is becoming the standard in heavy video editing.

    ----------

    The new Mac-Pro debuting at NAB? That would interesting.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #6
    If the specs indicated PCI express 3.0 that would have been interesting. The card is probably 3.0, but there is no 3.0 Mac Pros.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Kissaragi

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #7
    Wow, thats fantastic news!

    I had to check it wasn't a cruel april 1st joke from monday first of all.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #8
    It would probably send a bigger message than any marketing campaign aimed at getting people back on-board with Apple Pro apps, but they won't be on the showroom floor. Maybe seeing a preview at an outside user group meeting? Currently I'm glad I set my internal deadline for post-NAB to make any decisions on what purchase move I make regarding a new workstation.

    Hopefully this also means expanded Adobe support "out of the box" and getting these cards added to their hardware compatibility list natively.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #9
    Right, it's the same reason the card lists "OpenGL 3.2" support. The GPU itself fully supports DX11/GL4 features, but the Mac software still only exposes GL 3.2 functionality. Mac Pro is PCIe 2.0 only, so that's what is officially supported, even if the card can do more.
     
  10. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    I wonder what this means for a new Mac Pro. AMD or NVidia individually releasing cards isn't worrisome, but you'd think at least one of them would be holding back a card for the new Mac Pro.

    Unless the new Mac Pro works with PC graphics cards. Then I suppose it doesn't matter anyway.

    Still, the typical pattern you see is one camp get's their card made by Apple, the other goes OEM.
     
  11. macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #11
    It is a bit of a shame that it is the 2Gb version instead of the 4Gb but it is nice that the Mac Pro is finally getting some attention.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    #12
    can anyone tell how the power connectors are configured? I thought 680's all had one six pin and one 8 pin connector, but the 360 spin image on evga's site makes it look like this model has 2x 6 pin sockets . . . . .
    if I can power this without an 8 pin connection, I might bite.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #13
    Some 680s are 2x 6-pin. The MSI 680 4Gb Twin Frozr is one... if you can find one in stock.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #14
    I'd actually suggest that most 680s are 2 x 6-pin. It's only the super-overclocked boards that end up with an 8-pin connector, but those shouldn't be the norm. The TDP of the stock GPU is down in the 190W range, so there's plenty of headroom up to the 225W limit of the 2 x 6-pin connectors.
     
  15. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #15
    The specs say two PCI connectors included and they look like 6-pin.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #16
  17. macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Nice bit of price gouging as usual.

    $599.95 is a bit silly.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #18
    I zoomed in on some of the pics available and it does like the connectors are only six pin on the card. I was hoping to discover some inadvertent indication the a new Pro (if really true) would carry 8 pin capability. Still possible but another clue is always nice when sitting on pins and needles ready to pull the trigger on a custom Windows workstation.
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    voyagerd

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    #19
    Ouch! Should have been 4GB of VRAM at that price.
     
  20. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    Except we don't know it if Apple will apply it to the next generation.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #21
    Wonder if this card will be PCIe ver. 2.0 in bootcamp? And, if you can copy the bios onto an original EVGA GTX680 SC card, which is what it is based upon?
     
  22. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #22
    It will most definitely be PCIE 2.0 in either OS on Mac Pro.

    And I would guess that it will have a 512K EEPROM chip if it is like K5000 for Mac which uses this "Double Wide" size to hold it's rom which is larger then the 256K chip that comes on PC K5000.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #23
    So no copying from the Mac Edition to existing PC versions? PCIe ver. 2.0 in bootcamp and a boot menu is somethibg I would pay to get...
     
  24. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #24
  25. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #25
    I think that is the plan. You can use an off-the-shelf one and get MOST function, or buy the official one and get ALL function. The old carrot-and-stick.
     

Share This Page