Evidence of Quad-Core Chips Shows Up in iOS 5.1 Betas

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    9to5Mac reports that evidence of support for quad-core processors has shown up in beta versions of iOS 5.1, lending support to claims that Apple's forthcoming A6 chips will see a doubling in the number of processing cores.
    The report notes that single-core processors such as the A4 found in the iPhone 4 and original iPad fall under a "cores/core.0" designation, while dual-core processors such as the A5 in the iPhone 4S and iPad 2 are covered by a "/cores/core.1" designation. The "/cores/core.3" reference thus suggests compatibility with a quad-core chip.

    [​IMG]


    Apple's A6 system-on-a-chip has been rumored several times to carry a quad-core processor, and has been presumed to be set for inclusion in the company's next-generation iPad and iPhone models. There have, however, been some questions about whether the production timeline for the A6 would support its inclusion in the iPad 3, which is rumored for a release around March of this year.

    Article Link: Evidence of Quad-Core Chips Shows Up in iOS 5.1 Betas
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Dowjohnny

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Nice :D I'd love to see that coming!
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Quad-core chip on the next-gen iPhone would be blindingly fast :D
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Eauboy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    Wouldn't there also have to be a cores.2 reference?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    No, core.3 stands for Quad-Core. There is no such thing as "core.2"
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #6
    Release beta 3 already :/ or GM.. lol
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #7
    Brilliant! My MacBook Pro has... 2 cores... Better by a phone I guess :D
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #8
    Wait what? I thought apple didn't care about specs? Who needs quad core processors? Funny
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    GSPice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #9
    based on the convention they've chosen, "core.2" would imply, um, tri-core. :)
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    #10
    cores.0 = single core
    cores.1 = dual core
    cores.3 = quad core

    common sense would tell you cores.2 should be q tri core. as far as i know, there are no tri core processors out there.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #11
    Nice, Glad i never got 4s, this will be sufficient for me for a long time if true (on an iPhone that is) Besides spec means nothing if the software is crap plus bloated some (Android,Blackberry), Apple is Good at software so will be a great device iPad & iPhone. Bring it on
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    mjschranz

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #12
    Now this is an interesting rumor. Would be awesome to see if in the iPad 3 as I plan on making that one my first.

    Would have more cores than my macbook!
     
  13. macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #13
    Honestly, it seems like more wasted heat and energy to me. What is the iPhone 4S limited to right now because of the dual core? If their going to put a quad core in it, there better be a killer feature that requires it.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #14
    Makes sense! That would be sweet! Anyone think this will make it into the iPad 3 or are we waiting for iPhone 5 or iPad 4 with this one?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #15
    Possibly something Apple threw in there to throw people off again?
     
  16. macrumors 601

    Yvan256

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #16
    The A4 and A5 processors have their GPU in the same die as the CPU.

    An iPad with a retina displays means four times as much pixels to draw, meaning it requires a GPU upgrade, hence a CPU upgrade too, it would make no sense to only upgrade the GPU.

    Based on that, I'd be very surprised to see an iPad 3 without a quad-core CPU.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    MacBookPro13"

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    The next 13" Macbook's should have a quad-core processor then if the iDevices can make use of them :)
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #18
    I could be wrong about this but I think CORES 0 and 1 represent dual core processor, CORES 0, 1, 2, 3 represent quad core processor. This is why cores.0 is a single-core, cores.1 is a dual-core and cores.3 is a quad-core processor. cores.2 would be a tri-core processor which does not exist.
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    GSPice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #19
    If engineers asked that throughout history.... :rolleyes:


    anyway, a quad core could easily allow similar processing power at a lower clock speed. Which could easily be "cooler" core for core.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    nunes013

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #20
    makes sense. if the next iPad does have a high resolution display it will need a powerful GPU and also a powerful CPU to run some new applications that will be designed for it. Apple will probably under clock it a bit from the A5 though. maybe 800 MHz for the iPad and 600-700 MHz for the iPhone if they include it in the iPhone.
     
  21. macrumors member

    FaustsHausUK

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
  22. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #22
    Quad core to power the Retina iPad 3? Anyone?
     
  23. cvaldes, Jan 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012

    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    somewhere else
    #23
    Sorry, but caring and publicizing are two different concepts.

    Apple does not publicize many specs for its iOS devices. And they are right: Joe Consumer really doesn't care how MFLOPs the CPU can handle or how many polygons the graphics unit can paint in a second.

    Remember that Apple is a software-driven company whose software and services run best on their proprietary, high-margin hardware.

    The key with handheld devices is optimizing the software to run efficiently on the hardware. This is where Apple's tight control is advantageous. Android handset manufacturers do not have that control and often their devices which exceed Apple's on a spec sheet, don't perform as well in real world usage. In fact, they may need to beef up the hardware to get similar results.

    The biggest concerns in throwing in more hardware performance is battery life and bulk. There are some very important design considerations that need to be made, particularly in the design of handheld devices.

    Joe Consumer cares about how quickly the camera starts up and whether or not his favorite game stutters. Stuff like that. Joe Consumer does not care that smartphone X has a Tegra running at 1.2GHz whereas the iPhone 4S is probably underclocked to 800 or 900MHz.
     
  24. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #24
    There are tri core x64 CPUs. Technically the 360 is a tri core CPU.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #25
    Assembler code? Are parts of iOS written in that? I always thought it was 100% Objective-C.
     

Share This Page